What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-8/A Stick bumping during aerobatics

brendan.bardellini

I'm New Here
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on VAF as I am a new RV-8 owner. I recently purchased an RV-8 with the main purpose of getting into light aerobatics. I have noticed a slight lateral movement (bumping) in the control stick when performing aileron rolls. This happens in both directions. It's mild but I was wondering if anyone could shed light on what might be causing it?
Any input would be appreciated.

Simply put. Aileron “flutter feeling” in the stick or buffet. Nothing to worry about. If you don’t like it just ease off a little bit. Enjoy! They’re fun aircraft!

Last edited:
That’s normal. Only happens to me with full quick deflection. Wouldn’t call it flutter though as it doesn’t oscillate for me its just one bump. To be honest I am not sure what exactly causes it. If someone with more aerodynamic knowledge then me could explain it that would be great!

Oliver

Not only is it normal in RVs, but it's a good thing -- it means you're getting the stick all the way over to the stop when doing aileron rolls.

One of the "common errors" I see when teaching rolls is that the student will not use full control deflection. Which is understandable, because how often do we use full deflection under normal circumstances, right? But insufficient aileron input can make the roll rate sufficiently slow to allow the nose to fall far enough to cause visual loss of the horizon. That's where disorientation can take place and the student can get tempted to split-S out the bottom. That can be especially hazardous in RVs due to rapid speed build up.

--Ron

What is going on here is a normal characteristic of Friese ailerons.