What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-10 Good for beginner?

sn-rv10

I'm New Here
Hello everyone, my first post (hopefully of many). I am just starting to get my private's license, after many years of dreaming. My question is: I will only have ~100 hours on a cessna 182 when I complete my license in a year. If I start a quickbuild now, and finish it in a year (or so ;-), will it be a good match for me and my low flying hours? I plan on taking some of the RV10 specific flying courses, which should help. I know it is a "depends on the type of pilot you are" question, but was wondering if the handling of the RV10 was more suited for more experienced pilots. Thanks for any feedback!

Stephen

RV's are very nice handling airplanes. Any airplane can be learned. I would actually think that the RV-10 would be fine for you. Just for your own personal development as a pilot I would advise you get as many hours as you can in airplanes with inferior handling qualities to the RV. It helps to learn how to fly in an under-powered pig I think. This will help you really learn to fly well and it will make the RV that much more enjoyable when you do transition to it.

RV-10 for lower TT pilot?