What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

GTN Installation - How Difficult?

bigmo

I'm New Here
Tecnam S-LSA owner here - but LOVE using VAF as a resource!

Gauging folks here that do this for a living - or have experience installing a Garmin GTN in an "all Garmin" panel. My S-LSA Tecnam is all Garmin (twin G3X Touch, Garmin autopilot, com, nav, audio panel, etc.). I have the legal docs I need from the manufacturer for the installation, which can be performed in total by an A&P. My A&P, a great guy, is more than willing to give it a shot - but he's not done one before. I'm handy, technically a EE - but not by trade. I like a challenge.

While doing the homework, the Garmin crew at G3Xpert have been literally AMAZING. They sent me all the proper install docs for the G3X Touch (which has the install for the GAD29 interface), the GPS175 install guide, and all the logical wiring diagrams. Aside from building the pinouts with the Garmin connector kits, it's all "plug and play" according to Garmin.

Big unknowns for me right now are the actual panel cutting - ie do we need to remove EVERYTHING from the panel and then reinstall? With a shop vac and several hands, can we drill radius points and cut the panel and leave it in place? I do have a pretty big area to work with.

I have only one real install quote from a trusted shop. Frankly, normal avionics shops either a) don't like small jobs, b) are backed up for 12-18 months, or c) quote a literal crazy amount. Like CRAZY.

My one real quote is $2500 for the install. Not terrible. The downside is that it's a 2.5 hour flight away, a week leaving the plane, and two commercial flights for me to get back home. So really more like $2800-2900 plus the hassle of a lost day on both ends.