What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Solo RV10 Build

carbinefreak

I'm New Here
I'm getting warmed up to the idea of building an RV10 in my heated 15'x30' garage but due to living in the sticks (11,000' msl) it looks like I may need to build it alone or with minimal help. I've got a large amount of mechanical experience and I'm an electrical engineer so I should be fine on the technical side. The goal is to slow build due to costs but if the QB makes it happen I'd like to hear why. I'm also not against buying additional tools if it makes it feasible or easier but what's the brain trust think?

I'm getting warmed up to the idea of building an RV10 in my heated 15'x30' garage but due to living in the sticks (11,000' msl) it looks like I may need to build it alone or with minimal help. I've got a large amount of mechanical experience and I'm an electrical engineer so I should be fine on the technical side. The goal is to slow build due to costs but if the QB makes it happen I'd like to hear why. I'm also not against buying additional tools if it makes it feasible or easier but what's the brain trust think?

You can do 98% of the work solo. But final riveting some of the fuselage and wing skins is a 2 person job. You'll also need a second (and third) set of hands when you mount wings, attach the tailcone, et.

I've got a large amount of mechanical experience and I'm an electrical engineer ...