What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-12iS SLSA vs ELSA (cost of ownership)

rot

The setup

I am currently a student private pilot (Stage 3 check is coming up in the next week; check ride hopefully around a month out 🤞). I have been flying C172 with G1000 (~130 hours so far); I want to enjoy my PPL for a little while and keep building time, but my plan is to get my Instrument and Commercial ratings in the near future (ideally, later this year), with the long-term goal of getting all the way to ATP (we'll see).

A few weeks ago, I learned about Tango Flight and their high school build program, and after giving it some thought I decided to move forward with one of their student builds (ELSA); to be delivered by the end of May. The build from Tango Flight is basically Night VFR capable with an Autopilot, so I knew I would have to add, at the very least, a GPS to be able to use it for IFR training (in VMC). The price from Tango Flight is $129,900. My CFI thinks I should get a GTN650 instead of a GPS 175, but that's ~$6,600 difference ($11,800 vs $5,200); I would like to have it painted, so I'm adding another $12,000 for that (I'm ok with a simple white coat), plus a G5 as a backup, there goes another $1,575. Adding $5,000 for misc items such as avionics installation, ferry fees, etc, I'm looking at ~$153k or ~$160k (depending on GPS chosen).

Last week I went down to Hillsboro, OR to get transition training on the RV-12iS, and I took the opportunity to swing by Van's factory in Aurora. I was finally able to experience the "grin" during the demo flight, and also learned about their "Advanced Trainer" configuration for the RV-12iS, basically an IFR-capable version without wheel pants and fancy paint scheme (all white). This version is available for $219,500, with delivery in July 2024.

The question