What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Pitot tubes

flyerfly

For those of you that know about the internals of pitot tubes I have the following questions...

1. If it is raining hard where does the water go that goes into the pitot tube? How much does it affect airspeed etc? The same goes for ice that gets on there and then gets melted...some of it turns to liquid and some turns to vapor but if it is always pushed back into the line what happens?

I am no expert on heated pitots so would appreciate learning more about how well they function in bad weather. I am not IFR rated BTW.

I know there was an airbus that had its pitot/airspeed indicator system fail because of heavy rain/water from ice etc. so I am curious about the solutions.

Thanks.

Jon

Jon,
This does not seem to be an issue. There is no airflow really, into the pitot tube. The airspeed indicator is really a pressure gauge calibrated in knots instead of psi. The only opening into the pressure sensing part of the device is the pitot tube and there is no exit or bleed. Any water that impacts into the pitot head, just lays there and does not seem to block the tube and the airspeed indicator continues to operate. The water does not run up the tube and into the airspeed indicator. Consider that the oncoming air would consider the hole in the pitot head to be blocked or plugged off and therefore it would flow around the head taking some of the rain with it. The increased pressure at the head is what is measured by the airspeed indicator.

Ice however is another matter. Ice can form and build up, blocking off the pitot head. That is why IFR aircraft need heated pitot heads to be effective.
Hope that is of some help.
Cheers, Pete

Last edited:
Jon,