What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Fadec for the RV-10

Flappy

I'm New Here
Is there a FADEC solution available for the RV-10, which would combine mixture, prop and throttle into one lever?

Im new to the RV world and liked the look of flightchops RV 14 which had a Fadec throttle. Im sure his powerplant is different, Id really like a single lever in a 4 seater one day.

2 levers

Is there a FADEC solution available for the RV-10, which would combine mixture, prop and throttle into one lever?

Im new to the RV world and liked the look of flightchops RV 14 which had a Fadec throttle. Im sure his powerplant is different, Id really like a single lever in a 4 seater one day.

I'm pretty sure FlightChops has 2 controls, one for throttle and the other one prop.

SDS and EFII will control mixture for you. But no prop.

A while ago I dug and asked around and the answer I got is no one is working on the prop aspect of it.

There's that Lycoming iE2 which has FADEC with single-lever control. Of course it's an angle valve (and turbo), so too heavy for a -10, plus you'll have a hard time keeping it below VNE.

ie2.jpg

Even if you could fit an iE2 engine to an RV-10, the engine would cost more than the entire airplane.

Just looked at Aircraft Spruce - Europe. They have an ECU for an iE2 - 53K Euros.

There's that Lycoming iE2 which has FADEC with single-lever control. Of course it's an angle valve (and turbo), so too heavy for a -10, plus you'll have a hard time keeping it below VNE.

Why? Can you not reduce power with that? How do you taxi?

The throttle is just one more of the flight controls that the pilot must manipulate as needed to keep the aircraft within its flight envelope.

Flightchops has all 3 levers on his quadrant. This pic is from 2021 at Oshkosh but his recent YouTube videos show all of them there still.

View attachment 47477