What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Check your CS prop “low pitch” stops

We just performed this test on our 14. Took 2.25 turns in on fine pitch stop for our Hartzell CS prop to get below 2700 static. This is with an IO-390-EXP. I suspect Hartzell is setting these props up for 200HP, and the additional power needs more pitch.

I have been flying for a few years (RV-10 with a Hartzell Prop) and I have an RPM of 2580 at full power. When flying at full power and I adjust the Governor it takes some movement before there is a decrease in RPM - it is not immediate. Because of that I thought it was not Governor limited so I adjusted the low pitch stop by 1/2 of a turn with no change on a ground run. My next step is to adjust the Governor and leave the low pitch stop where it is for the moment and once I am able to increase RPM then cycle back to the low pitch stop adjustment. Does this make sense?
So your static RPM is 2580.. that’s ok, but you will get a little better acceleration at 2600 to 2650 static. The next question I have, are you able to hit 2700 rpm in climb? If not, then your governor needs to be raised. (You do have 1/8 to 1/4 inch before the knob hits the panel, right? You want the engine controls to fully hit their full range before they hit the panel)
I find that a lot of pilots or mechanics try to compensate for the overspeed surge by setting a lower governor setting to anticipate the surge, but that just makes the whole problem worse!

We just performed this test on our 14. Took 2.25 turns in on fine pitch stop for our Hartzell CS prop to get below 2700 static. This is with an IO-390-EXP. I suspect Hartzell is setting these props up for 200HP, and the additional power needs more pitch.
Yup.. I find it takes 2 and 1/3 turn to get it about right. Did you fly it yet? It’ll probably get to 2700 just about the time you lift off, and will glide better when you pull to idle..