What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Belted or Geared?

TXFlyGuy

Well Known Member
I'm new to this, but have made a few phone calls plus a bit of reading on the subject. There seems to be arguments for both sides here. However, a story by a former PSRU manufacturer told of a belt that had lost all (or most of) it's cogs and the plane was able to land at an airport, make some adjustments, and fly home for the needed repairs. A gear driven unit may not have done as well.
Also, Rotorway Helicopter (remember the Scorpion?) switched from belted to geared, and then had many issues with torsional vibration. They soon switched back to belts. I was told also that the U.S. Army uses belts in all of it's helicopters.

I'm looking at a Chevy engine, perhaps the V6, maybe V8. Two schools of thought are from Belted Air Drives (Jess Meyers), and Firewall Forward Aero of Canada (Archie Dobbins).

If anyone has researched this issue and has empirical evidence to support an argument, please feel free to expound on your data!

Welcome to VAF!!!!

Myron, welcome to VAF:D

I suspect you are going to get a lot of opinion on your question, and much of it will be -----Lycoming.

Hopefully Ross Farnham will chime in, he is one of the more knowledgeable folks out in RV land currently flying with an auto engine conversion.

I have a couple buddies who have done auto conversions, and both were belt drive-----the lack of needing a lubrication system, and the adjustability of a belt were factors in their choice.

Good luck with the question, what are you planning on building ?

Myron, welcome to VAF:D

I suspect you are going to get a lot of opinion on your question, and much of it will be -----Lycoming.

Hopefully Ross Farnham will chime in, he is one of the more knowledgeable folks out in RV land currently flying with an auto engine conversion.