What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Battery trickle charge question

RV9newbie

I'm New Here
I have a RV9-A with a Hawker SBS - J16 Aviation battery installed 8/22. I haven't been flying much because the weather has not been favorable in the mid-Atlantic area. Now, I'm leaving for 2 1/2 weeks for vacation. My question is: should I leave a trickle charger on while away? Temps in area will swing from low 50's to 20 degrees. I plane is hangared.

Remember, I'm a newbie.

thanks, I believe mine does.
You want to be sure. A good float charger can be on the battery 24/7/365 without fear of overcharging. In fact, that's actually better for the battery is it prevents sulfation-inducing overcharging and will prevent freezing.

If you really want to be super extremely cautious, take it out the the aircraft and put a full charge on it. It can then be stored (properly) for up to 2 years without the need for charging (is says it'll maintain at least 50% state of charge if stored at room temp).

But, since its AGM, any float charger that designed for sealed lead-acid batteries (like this one)will work just fine without any worries for more than a couple of weeks even.

I'll go out on a limb here and be in the minority. My hangar mate and I have a policy to never leave any kind of battery charger on unattended. Any electrical device can fail. With chargers the worst that usually happens with a charger is that the battery will boil off its electrolyte and it will get fairly warm. The extreme worst case is it can cause a fire.

Where I live in Ontario, Canada our electrical code specifically prohibits charging an aircraft battery while it is in the airplane. It must be removed and placed on either a bench or floor to charge. I don't have a current copy of the code handy but my electrical inspector showed me the paragraph when he did the final inspection on my hangar at my cottage.