VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 01-19-2022, 06:48 PM
NROBB NROBB is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 17
Default GTX 330ES + G5 + GPS 175

I am setting up Dual G5, GMU 11, GTX 330ES, GPS 175 and GAD 29. Hoping to double check my understanding of the wiring before I start crimping a web of wires.

Dual G5 to GPS 175 with GMU 11 & GAD 29 is clear in the Dec-21 G5 Rev 29.

And as WAAS source; GPS 175 RS-232 #2 with ADSB+ Format connects to GTX 330ES.

Do I need to connect the 330ES (ARINC 429 pins) to the GAD 29 so it can receive altitude data from G5? Or is that only vis G5 RS232?

I've read that G5 is able to provide this data to transponders / remote ADS-B out so no need for an additional altitude encoder. But as both G5 single RS232 RX1 is connected to GPS 175 for MapMX, can I still use Top G5 TX1 to 330ES, if I setup G5 RX1 to MapMX, can TX1 be setup for altitude data out? If not; then can it send the data using GAD29?

I see that GTX 330ES can receive altitude data on ARINC 429 (label 203 IIRC) but can the G5 output that to via CANBus -> GAD 29?

EDIT: G5 can output a different format on the TX1 than the received format on RX1. So that confirms I can connect G5->330ES for altitude.
Now just checking for any other benefits in using ARINC from 330ES -> GPS OR GAD29 (No OAT planned for the 330ES at this point) so if no other benefits then only 5 wires needed for 330ES (two power, one avionics master, one GPS RX, one altitude RX).




Thanks
Ned

Last edited by NROBB : 01-20-2022 at 06:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2022, 07:51 AM
Longez's Avatar
Longez Longez is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 380
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by NROBB View Post
I am setting up Dual G5, GMU 11, GTX 330ES, GPS 175 and GAD 29. Hoping to double check my understanding of the wiring before I start crimping a web of wires.

Dual G5 to GPS 175 with GMU 11 & GAD 29 is clear in the Dec-21 G5 Rev 29.

And as WAAS source; GPS 175 RS-232 #2 with ADSB+ Format connects to GTX 330ES.

Do I need to connect the 330ES (ARINC 429 pins) to the GAD 29 so it can receive altitude data from G5? Or is that only vis G5 RS232?

I've read that G5 is able to provide this data to transponders / remote ADS-B out so no need for an additional altitude encoder. But as both G5 single RS232 RX1 is connected to GPS 175 for MapMX, can I still use Top G5 TX1 to 330ES, if I setup G5 RX1 to MapMX, can TX1 be setup for altitude data out? If not; then can it send the data using GAD29?

I see that GTX 330ES can receive altitude data on ARINC 429 (label 203 IIRC) but can the G5 output that to via CANBus -> GAD 29?

EDIT: G5 can output a different format on the TX1 than the received format on RX1. So that confirms I can connect G5->330ES for altitude.
Now just checking for any other benefits in using ARINC from 330ES -> GPS OR GAD29 (No OAT planned for the 330ES at this point) so if no other benefits then only 5 wires needed for 330ES (two power, one avionics master, one GPS RX, one altitude RX).


Thanks
Ned
Ned,

You should connect MapMX from the GPS 175 to the RS-232 input on each of the G5 units. Since MapMX is at 38400 baud, you can't setup the transmit for a 9600 baud altitude output, but no problem because A429 to the transponder is better.

Click image for larger version

Name:	G5 MapMX Input.png
Views:	23
Size:	9.5 KB
ID:	21212

You can connect the transponder to the same EFIS/Airdata output from the GAD 29 to the GPS 175, but you can also configure a second EFIS/Airdata A429 output to send altitude (and other) data to the transponder.

In this example you would connect A429 output 1 to the GPS 175 and A429 output 2 to the GTX 330ES.

Click image for larger version

Name:	G5 Dual EFIS_Airdata_Output.png
Views:	29
Size:	11.7 KB
ID:	21213

Steve

Last edited by Longez : 01-20-2022 at 07:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2022, 08:42 AM
NROBB NROBB is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 17
Default

Thanks Steve. Great. So G5 TX1 OUT to 330ES needs to be 9600.

Ok, so the setup now should be:

- Dual G5 CANBus to GMU 11 & GAD29 (Magnatic Heading & A429 converter)

- GPS 175 TX1 -> Dual G5 RX1 using MapMX format (for GPS position)

- GPS 175 TX2 -> 330ES using ADSB+ format (For WAAS source)

- GAD29 A429 IN/OUT #1 -> GPS 175 A429 IN/OUT (For GPS LPV to G5 HSI)

- GAD29 A429 OUT #2 -> 330ES A429 IN (Altitude from G5)

Wondering if I used the 330ES A429 OUT back to GAD29; can that send TIS info to GPS or just use RS232 OUT from 330ES -> GPS for TIS info?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2022, 03:18 PM
Longez's Avatar
Longez Longez is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 380
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by NROBB View Post
Wondering if I used the 330ES A429 OUT back to GAD29; can that send TIS info to GPS or just use RS232 OUT from 330ES -> GPS for TIS info?
The GPS 175 installation manual indicates that it supports ADS-B traffic (including TIS-B) and ADS-B weather, but not TIS-A traffic.

TIS-A traffic from a Mode S transponder is pretty much obsolete, and thus support was not added to these newer generation navigators.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2022, 03:34 PM
NROBB NROBB is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 17
Default

That makes 330ES wiring even less.

Thanks Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.