VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 07-23-2022, 07:08 PM
Rallylancer122 Rallylancer122 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oconto, WI
Posts: 311
Default Splicing battery cable

Long story, but I find myself with the need to splice a couple battery cables in an airplane I'm repairing. #2 and #4. Obviously this is not ideal, but replacing the wires comes with it's own issues.

Any recommendations on splices? Crimp or solder?

Or should I just give up and replace them?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2022, 09:12 PM
blaplante blaplante is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 473
Default

Free opinion, worth what it cost you....
I think soldering them will be really difficult. So I'd discard that idea.

I think I'd use a hydraulic crimper, crimp on terminal ends (4 pieces) and bolt the terminals together. obviously insulation of those joints will need SERIOUS consideration.

I'm not aware of any butt joint crimp barrels in that large size. Maybe they exist. Again, only suitable if you have a hyraulic crimp tool.

I think I'd placard this area to indicate the crimps. And put in the airframe log book. Someone in the future will have no idea.
__________________
RV6A in phase 2 as of April 2016
Donation made Oct 2021
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2022, 09:17 PM
Untainted123's Avatar
Untainted123 Untainted123 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Azle, TX
Posts: 174
Default

I donít know if they make them big enough, but a cable swage/crimp sleeve might work, covered by good thick shrink wrap.

Main thing I think is to get lots of surface area shared between them, because the amps are usually high on cable that size, and you donít want a hotspot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-2022, 09:25 PM
Funguy's Avatar
Funguy Funguy is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 131
Default All is lost

Give up and replace them...

Worth exactly what you paid for it! However, I am real life EE when not playing at being a pilot.

Cheers, Sean
__________________
RV6, Flying C-GOFG
CLA4 - Holland Landing
Toronto ON
Donated to December 2022
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-23-2022, 09:40 PM
Rallylancer122 Rallylancer122 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oconto, WI
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Untainted123 View Post
I donít know if they make them big enough, but a cable swage/crimp sleeve might work, covered by good thick shrink wrap.

Main thing I think is to get lots of surface area shared between them, because the amps are usually high on cable that size, and you donít want a hotspot.
That's what I'm worried about. How do you push that much amperage through a crimp.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-23-2022, 10:09 PM
gasman gasman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 4,528
Default

Take your cable size (the copper part) without insulation to a welding supply shop. They will have splices that will carry the current. Installs with an allen wrench.
__________________
VAF #897 Warren Moretti
2022 =VAF= Dues PAID
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-23-2022, 10:13 PM
gasman gasman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 4,528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rallylancer122 View Post
That's what I'm worried about. How do you push that much amperage through a crimp.
Your utility company does it all the time......
__________________
VAF #897 Warren Moretti
2022 =VAF= Dues PAID
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-23-2022, 11:38 PM
PaulvS's Avatar
PaulvS PaulvS is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 1,206
Default Splice connectors

mouser.com has got various splices for 2 gau and 4 gau cable.
https://www.mouser.com/c/connectors/...0gauge=2%20AWG

AC43.13 Section 13 has got some guidance on splicing, e.g. 2 layers of heat shrink insulation recommended.

I think soldering will probably damage the insulation due to the amount of heat that would be required for the wire bulk.
__________________
Paul vS (yes I'm also a Van)
Building RV-6A #22320 O-320 FP. Wings and tail complete, fuselage almost done, working on canopy.
Flying my Aeroprakt A-22 STOL and the aero club's RV-9A while I build
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-24-2022, 07:05 AM
Sam Buchanan's Avatar
Sam Buchanan Sam Buchanan is offline
been here awhile
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 4,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rallylancer122 View Post
That's what I'm worried about. How do you push that much amperage through a crimp.
Same way the current gets pushed through the crimps at the ends of the cables.....
__________________
Sam Buchanan
RV-6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-24-2022, 07:05 AM
airguy's Avatar
airguy airguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Garden City, Tx
Posts: 5,925
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gasman View Post
Your utility company does it all the time......
They also have multiple taps on the transformers to deal with voltage losses - we don't.
__________________
Greg Niehues - SEL, IFR, Repairman Cert.
Garden City, TX VAF 2022 dues paid
N16GN flying 1,150 hrs and counting on 91E10; IO360, SDS, WWRV200, Dynon HDX, IFD440, G5
Built an off-plan RV9A with too much fuel and too much HP. Should drop dead any minute now.
Pending Repeat Offender - 10 kit is on order. TDI? Turbine? Stay tuned!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:56 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.