VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.






VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet

  #1  
Old 07-26-2022, 01:42 AM
tass tass is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16
Default Anyone in or near KSBD to help?

I just flew into San Bernadino, and soon before landing my RV4s oil temp wire has broken.

The trouble is I am parked at the FBO and while I didnít ask I assume they are not OK with me doing a quick repair on their ramp.

Does anyone know of a spot I could taxi to and fix it? I have enough tools to get the cowling off and remove the bolt from the gaugeís terminal, and just need to pick up a new ring terminal and wire crimper/stripper.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2022, 08:54 AM
ethand ethand is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 219
Default Can You Fly It?

Corona is 22 miles by air from San Bernardino and Aircraft Spruce is there. They will pick up up and bring you to the store for any needs (terminal, wire, crimper etc).

E
__________________
RV-10 N77319
2192 Days of Building
Completed May 2019
Phase 1 completed Nov 2019
270 hours and counting.....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2022, 11:50 AM
Laird's Avatar
Laird Laird is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 203
Default Whiteman

I'd fix it on the ramp until someone said you can't.

If it not fixed yet and you can get it to Whiteman KWHP I have everything you need. I'll pm my number.

Laird
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2022, 01:54 PM
tass tass is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks Laird and E.

I can do a quick fix through the dipstick access panel (strip the wire and wrap it under the bolt) in probably 30 seconds or so which would make it legal to fly, then I could relocate for a better fix whether that's at Chino, Whiteman or otherwise.

The wire is quite thin (22ga?), and gets put under stress during an oil change since it gets moved around when the housing comes off. I'd like to ultimately use a thicker wire on a removable terminal which I hope would be much more resilient and make oil changes slightly easier.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2022, 02:14 PM
larosta larosta is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 193
Default

You might want to check your PM’s.

KREI is close you can see it just east of KSBD, lots of friendly pilots and RV’s there.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2022, 07:14 PM
Plummit's Avatar
Plummit Plummit is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,624
Default

If you still haven't got this resolved, let me know and I can fly out to you with anything you need.

-Marc
marcwhis at gmail
__________________
RV-10
N814RV
2022 Donation Made
Plus extra donation for someone who didn't
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2022, 11:47 PM
tass tass is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16
Default Thank you!

Thanks everyone for your offers to help, and for all the advice. I love this forum

I got it fixed today, but of course found a new problem (but one which doesn't stop me from flying).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.