VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #141  
Old 09-19-2021, 07:47 PM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1,724
Default Power Up Test Ready

I have finished all the wiring except the engine sensors, and stuff. I am ready to turn on the panel and see what happens. I used a very low power bench supply thru the diode-protected test port and verified all the power pins have the correct polarity before connecting all the expensive Garmin boxes.. The power supply is not strong enough to power up the panel. I ordered the battery on Thursday with a guarantee next day pick up, but the flaking store said it didn't arrive. I learnt (again) I should have just went to Aircraft Spruce. I made 20 foot extension cables so i can hook the wings up to the plane and have the panel think everything is proper (except engine sensors). I plan to roll it outside so the antennas see the sky.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6C33160A-07A6-422A-AB1E-EF64D9E72690.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	359.3 KB
ID:	15991  Click image for larger version

Name:	791D21DC-036D-4907-A406-E99351E9B2D0.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	444.9 KB
ID:	15992  
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2021, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
95% done, 15% left to go
Electrical/Panel 95% done
Firewall Forward 5% in work
Fiberglass 0%, thought i was building in metal?
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com

Last edited by PilotjohnS : 09-19-2021 at 07:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 09-22-2021, 09:04 AM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1,724
Default First Power Up

So I rolled the plane out for first power up. Installed the battery. Pulled all the breakers so none of the expensive stuff would turn on.

Turned on the master. all is good.\
hit the start key, heard starter relay click (no engine installed, so no actual starter.
Powered up the G5 by activating circuit breaker: all good
powered up PFD (Garmin 460): came on and found satelite
Powered up MFD: Came on with error message of no GPS antenna connected (Config setting is wrong)
Powered up GTX375 : error message Transponder fault WHAT?
Powered up Com1 Error message: Mike stuck on.(resolved with change of wiring)
Tried taxi lights: all good
Position lights: all good
Strobes: tail only ( wing connection to FLYLeds swapped)
Trim: Not working (wiring fix, and configbsetting was wrong)
Flaps: works great but backwards ( panel switch miswired)
Landing light: only left working nomright ( possible gad 29 config issue, or can add additional switch input connection)

Tried Transponder again: All good, but no database installed

Troubleshooting is starting: found stuck mike problem right away: I used very thin Cat7 cable to wire the stick switches to the panel.(I originally did this because bundle was getting tight in grommets; turns out regular wire was not much bigger) The wire, when bundled, had several 40 ohms "shorts". This was low enough resistance for Garmin to think mike is keyed. Changed out cable with real wire and resistance check is good.

working off the rest of the squawks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2D9559EC-8430-405E-BE13-E89658399A72.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	457.4 KB
ID:	16137  Click image for larger version

Name:	E54F8F92-4EB2-4DE1-9B1D-CBC7CEDA08D9.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	477.7 KB
ID:	16138  Click image for larger version

Name:	14618C36-C371-4FA1-8D5E-AC27F11CBFFC.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	381.7 KB
ID:	16139  
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2021, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
95% done, 15% left to go
Electrical/Panel 95% done
Firewall Forward 5% in work
Fiberglass 0%, thought i was building in metal?
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com

Last edited by PilotjohnS : 09-24-2021 at 06:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 09-23-2021, 04:58 PM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 6,283
Default

Just donít forget everything you install will have to come out some day, black boxes fail.
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 2000+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 09-24-2021, 06:09 AM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1,724
Default New problem

New minor problem is roll trim operates trim servo correctly, but G3x indicates it is operating backwards. Garmin system thinks i am commanding right roll when button and trim servo is going left. I think I will swap pins on the trim in and trim out wires at the wing ito fuse connector; the trim servo will still operate correctly but AP servo will see it as opposite. This change means no software config changes necessary, except for maybe AP servo direction change in AP setup page. .

Everything else seems to be config setup issues.

Coms were able to receive ATIS in the hangar. And I need to decide which N number to use to input into transponder.

This may seem difficult but it is not. Garmin's documentation is excellent and walks you through all of this. And having the experts at Osh was a big help to answer questions and practice playing with the instruments. What a great thing to have, and alone was worth the trip to Osh. I am very glad I went with the Garmin system. This troubleshooting is a straight forward process. Like build the airframe, lots of parts, but each step is fairly simple.
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2021, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
95% done, 15% left to go
Electrical/Panel 95% done
Firewall Forward 5% in work
Fiberglass 0%, thought i was building in metal?
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com

Last edited by PilotjohnS : 09-24-2021 at 06:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 09-27-2021, 09:36 AM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1,724
Default fixed... sort of

So my roll trim is fixed with a flip of the wires as previously described. Easy-peesy.



Besides calibration of the stuff, I think that is my last wiring issue. So I am moving on to engine install.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A0A421FC-F7C9-47AC-B42C-FD51BCA6B5C8.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	432.3 KB
ID:	16388  
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2021, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
95% done, 15% left to go
Electrical/Panel 95% done
Firewall Forward 5% in work
Fiberglass 0%, thought i was building in metal?
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com

Last edited by PilotjohnS : 09-27-2021 at 01:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 10-03-2021, 07:01 PM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1,724
Default Engine install

So today was the engine install. I read all the previous suggestions and it went in with little trouble.
I put the bottom bolts in first and then the top.
I also had to change the support brace prior to releasing all the load onto the fuselage; the old position of the brace was cause a slight warpage of the bottom skin so i moved it forward to just next to the firewall. Much better now.
I think it only took us 1 hour, at the most.

The Snap-on open end box fit three nuts perfectly; like it was designed for this. I had to grind a craftsman sacrificial box end to fit the upper left nut. That one has very little clearance from the push rod to the bolt to slide the wrench on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	529.5 KB
ID:	16694  
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2021, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
95% done, 15% left to go
Electrical/Panel 95% done
Firewall Forward 5% in work
Fiberglass 0%, thought i was building in metal?
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com

Last edited by PilotjohnS : 10-03-2021 at 07:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 10-03-2021, 09:36 PM
cajunwings cajunwings is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: new iberia la
Posts: 860
Default Panel

John. Sent you a PM. Thanks. Don B
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:12 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.