kirkbauer

I'm still in the very early stages of figuring out how I want to do the electrical system in my future RV-10. This will be for IFR cross-country flying with the family, so I want plenty of redundancy. And not just safety-of-flight redundancy, but also "you don't have to cancel your trip" redundancy. For this reason, I'm almost certainly going with 2x alternators and 2x batteries, plus a G5 with its own battery. The engine will have dual pMags and therefore the engine will not be electrically dependent.

I'm currently debating between two core architectures. As an engineer, I am trying to balance between over-engineering something and keeping it simple for a future partner in the airplane. Am I missing any pros or cons or have I missed anything else obvious here? There are some weight and cost differences but from what I can tell neither of those are substantial.

Option A: TCW IBBS

In this architecture, I would have one main electrical bus with the main battery and two alternators (one running at a time). The IBBS would charge from the main bus and it would power my essential bus. Three switches: master, backup, and alt1/2.

Pros: simple and seems pretty standard. Very little (if any) electrical design required (e.g. diodes, etc).
Cons: limited backup power will require a pretty streamlined essential bus, catastrophic failure of the IBBS could cause essential bus to fail (but with dual power inputs to most Garmin avionics that may not be an issue?), issue with primary battery would prevent starting the engine

Option B1: Two separate systems