What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Old engine bearings

UrbanM

Here is some quick background; Purchased flying RV with documented engine rebuild with performance mods. After two intake valve failures (One with the previous owner and one with me) I decided to have an IRAN done by the local shop. I have posted before about some of the questionable stuff like the regrind of the factory camshaft etc.
Something that I found interesting is what appears to be the use of some old questionable parts during the overhaul process. I've attached some photos of the main and connecting rod bearings. These are on a 400HR 0-320. I am somewhat new to owning this model of aircraft engine and wondering if this shows excessive wear for a low time engine.
Thanks!
Kirk

Attachments

• 20220908_132716.jpg
    20220908_132716.jpg
    443.7 KB · Views: 396
  • 20220908_132711.jpg
    20220908_132711.jpg
    407.2 KB · Views: 313
  • 20220908_132703.jpg
    20220908_132703.jpg
    396.3 KB · Views: 360
  • 20220908_132656.jpg
    20220908_132656.jpg
    405.1 KB · Views: 380
.... I have posted before about some of the questionable stuff like the regrind of the factory camshaft etc.

Why is this part questionable? This will open debate about quality of recent factory new versus older versions, etc. That said, nothing wrong with a proper camshaft (or crank) regrind. Now, a bad job that doesn't leave proper surface hardness is a quality issue. I assume most (the vast majority?) will get DLC application these days. Just asking. Maybe I'm misunderstanding this part of your statement.

Last edited: