VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 08-14-2021, 10:41 PM
WingnutWick's Avatar
WingnutWick WingnutWick is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lemoore
Posts: 258
Default IO-540 Engine sag suspected - steps?

Hello,

Suspecting engine sag on a new RV-10 purchase with an IO-540. Dealing with this is new to me and I am curious if I should try to troubleshoot first with re-torquing or just replace them? They've been on since before 2007.

If I have to replace them - looking for suggestions on what to replace them with. Can I do this without disconnecting everything from the motor?

Pics attached - thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2262.jpeg
Views:	157
Size:	260.8 KB
ID:	14687  Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2261.jpeg
Views:	179
Size:	240.0 KB
ID:	14688  Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2260.jpeg
Views:	171
Size:	218.0 KB
ID:	14689  Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2258.jpeg
Views:	160
Size:	242.1 KB
ID:	14690  
__________________
-Wingnut
F-18E/F, Mk.58, CF-5
RV-8 O-360
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2021, 08:03 AM
lr172 lr172 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 6,537
Default

Pretty sure the vip units for the 540 are symmetrical, so could consider swapping them each front to back. Don’t know about lord or barry.
__________________
N64LR - RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015
N11LR - RV-10, Flying as of 12/2019
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2021, 08:36 AM
Toobuilder's Avatar
Toobuilder Toobuilder is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mojave
Posts: 4,831
Default

The isolators on the 540 are pretty easy to do, and assuming you can get to the hardware, should not need to disconnect anything. Do the top or bottom in pairs using a hoist or jack to support the front of the engine. Simply let the engine sag a bit to create enough gap to remove the pucks (top) or raise the prop end to open the gap on the bottom.

If you dont want to replace the pucks just yet, you can also spin them 180 and might get a bit more life, but replacement is inevitable.
__________________
WARNING! Incorrect design and/or fabrication of aircraft and/or components may result in injury or death. Information presented in this post is based on my own experience - Reader has sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for use.

Michael Robinson
______________
Harmon Rocket II -SDS EFI
RV-8 - SDS CPI
1940 Taylorcraft BL-65
1984 L39C
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2021, 08:51 AM
PilotjohnS PilotjohnS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Southwest
Posts: 1,721
Default Look see

I would have a tech counselor look thru the engine compartment; that one hose clamp looks like it might not be on properly, but hard to tell from the picture.
__________________
John S

WARNING! Information presented in this post is my opinion. All users of info have sole responsibility for determining accuracy or suitability for their use.

Dues paid 2021, worth every penny

RV9A- Status:
95% done, 15% left to go
Electrical/Panel 95% done
Firewall Forward 5% in work
Fiberglass 0%, thought i was building in metal?
www.pilotjohnsrv9.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2021, 08:58 AM
Plummit's Avatar
Plummit Plummit is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,369
Default Shotgun em

Mine looked just like yours with the gap. Don't mess around just replace them all with Lord. I found a better price than Spruce online and spruce matched it. You will get even a lower price from Vans but they won't be Lord brand.

-Marc
__________________
RV-10
N814RV
2021 Donation Made
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2021, 09:01 AM
Tim Lewis Tim Lewis is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bristow, VA
Posts: 164
Default Lord mounts

For my stock RV-10, I have Lord J-3804-20 mounts. For reference, Lord kit number J-3804-20 includes two isolators, part J3049. Inspection process, thickness and eccentricity limits for J3049 are in this document:

https://files.lord.com/pdf/44/PB6304...alAviation.pdf

FYI, A few years ago I considered buying VIP mounts for replacement. I called VIP and asked for their equivalent document if I chose to use their product. Nope. They bought the line from somebody else, they said, and have no documentation on thickness or sag limits. So I buy Lord.

Note that Lord's annual process involves the visual inspection of the mounting for separation, deterioration, excessive sag, cracks, etc. *Only* if that inspection fails do they have you remove the mount and measure thickness/eccentricity.

Lord mounts can be changed without disconnecting the engine. I find it's a 2 man job, using an engine hoist and load leveler (Harbor Freight). On my plane, I have to support the tail while lifting and rocking the engine. I don't like doing it. I won't change a mount unless I have to.
__________________
Tim Lewis
CFI, A&P
RV-10 N31TD - 1450 hrs
RV-6A N47TD - 1100 hrs (sold)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2021, 09:16 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 3,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Lewis View Post
SNIP

Lord mounts can be changed without disconnecting the engine. I find it's a 2 man job, using an engine hoist and load leveler (Harbor Freight). On my plane, I have to support the tail while lifting and rocking the engine. I don't like doing it. I won't change a mount unless I have to.
+1 on how to change out the mounts.

If however the mounts themselves look good, you could try putting a big AN970 washer between the engine and the forward side of the engine mount on the bottom two mounts. You may or may not need a longer bolt, and you need to verify that you will have adequate spacing between the cowl and spinner.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-15-2021, 11:26 AM
togaflyer togaflyer is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Fl/Ga
Posts: 742
Default

You could swap the inboard ones to outboard (outboards to inboards). Also consider lock nuts vs castle nuts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-26-2021, 09:41 PM
WingnutWick's Avatar
WingnutWick WingnutWick is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lemoore
Posts: 258
Default Which one?

Which hose clamp are you referring to?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PilotjohnS View Post
I would have a tech counselor look thru the engine compartment; that one hose clamp looks like it might not be on properly, but hard to tell from the picture.
__________________
-Wingnut
F-18E/F, Mk.58, CF-5
RV-8 O-360
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-26-2021, 09:45 PM
WingnutWick's Avatar
WingnutWick WingnutWick is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lemoore
Posts: 258
Default

Do you remember where you got them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plummit View Post
Mine looked just like yours with the gap. Don't mess around just replace them all with Lord. I found a better price than Spruce online and spruce matched it. You will get even a lower price from Vans but they won't be Lord brand.

-Marc
__________________
-Wingnut
F-18E/F, Mk.58, CF-5
RV-8 O-360
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.