What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

What do you want to see for Garmin training at OSH?

KatieB

Well Known Member
Hey everyone!

For my day job, I'm a classroom instructor for Garmin Aviation Product Support. It's that time of year again when we start thinking ahead to our training for Oshkosh. I just thought I'd reach out and see which topics you'd like us to cover for avionics installation and maintenance for homebuilts. Our sessions run about 45 minutes each and ideally we do 2 per day (Mon-Sat) at the show. I can't wait to get back to the training tent and try to talk over those tenacious Aeroshell T-6s again... :D Seriously!

Topics we've previously covered include avionics tools, Garmin documentation, G3X system components & architecture, GPS navigator (GTN) & transponder interface, autopilot tuning, and CAN bus wiring. What else would you like to know about planning, installing, wiring, configuration, and testing/troubleshooting? Please let me know in this thread. I'm in the idea-gathering phase right now and could use your brainstorming power. If you have ideas for training on G3X operation, please let me know that as well, and I'll forward them over to our pilot training crew.

Thank you all!
Katie

Last edited:
How about a class on the different ways to use a G3X/GTN combination for flight planning (transfer of flight plans between devices), navigation (both autopilot and hand flying), and approach. This seems to be a common issue for people on VAF as there have been a number of questions posted, so having a class with a complete discussion of the topic and the chance to ask questions would be appreciated.

Thanks for asking

Another vote for training on how to use the G3X system, - for example, a VFR and IFR flight from input of flight plan, enroute functions and features, approach and landing, and for IFR, combined with a GTN or other certified navigator.