VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
w/a Donation






VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet

  #1  
Old 09-26-2023, 02:37 PM
bobg56 bobg56 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 334
Default Headset Quality

I have a legacy RV12 and have an old Light Speed ANR headset which works great, the passenger headset is an old Flight Com which I need to replace, it never really worked very well the cord is frayed and its intermittent. What I have noticed is that the cheaper head sets perform really badly in my airplane, I borrowed a few to try out. I have to max out my radio volume to get barely adequate sound, same for the intercom, however when using Light Speed or Bose the difference is huge and they work great, the volume knob is never near max. My friend has a 2017 RV12 and he has a cheap $100 headset that works fine in his aircraft, so I tried his and its terrible in mine. I have swapped them from side to side, intercom isolated, etc. I hate to spend the big bucks for passenger headset but I may have to...anyone experience this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2023, 03:01 PM
2theskyy 2theskyy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Northcoast
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobg56 View Post
I have a legacy RV12 and have an old Light Speed ANR headset which works great, the passenger headset is an old Flight Com which I need to replace, it never really worked very well the cord is frayed and its intermittent. What I have noticed is that the cheaper head sets perform really badly in my airplane, I borrowed a few to try out. I have to max out my radio volume to get barely adequate sound, same for the intercom, however when using Light Speed or Bose the difference is huge and they work great, the volume knob is never near max. My friend has a 2017 RV12 and he has a cheap $100 headset that works fine in his aircraft, so I tried his and its terrible in mine. I have swapped them from side to side, intercom isolated, etc. I hate to spend the big bucks for passenger headset but I may have to...anyone experience this?
Might not answer your question directly or other issues going on. But Iíve used my favorite Bose (non aviation) headset with U fly mic setup for a decade or more and love it. I have the 15 & 20/30 Bose and they work great in some of the harshest environments.
Not the cheapest nor most expensive but they are better than most expensive noise cancelling units.
__________________
ATP,CFII,A&P
Building=RV8
XIO-360-M1B9
WW-330-3B
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2023, 03:08 PM
bbaggerman bbaggerman is offline
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 60
Default Stereo vs Mono

Be careful about stereo vs mono headset with a FlightCom 403 intercom. If yours is like mine it was wired for stereo only.

Quoting from the User Manual... "CAUTION: if you are using monaural headsets and you do not place the toggle switch next to the headphone jack in the Mono setting, a squealing sound and possibly intercom damage will occur."

A mono headset will definitely sound bad right up until the point where the intercom fails. Ask me how I know.

I installed a mono / stereo switch to work with some old headsets but I don't think the -12 is normally wired that way.
__________________
Bob Baggerman
Niceville, FL
N233VA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2023, 08:18 AM
bobg56 bobg56 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 334
Default

I don't have a switch by the jacks, however I've seen a Clark headset with a switch from mono to stereo, my lightspeed has a dip switch for that too. I can't believe how expensive Bose and Light Speed are but the difference is night and day when using the cheaper ones. I had a feeling that my set up is stereo but didn't think using mono headsets could damage the intercom.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2023, 10:00 AM
rvbuilder2002 rvbuilder2002 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hubbard Oregon
Posts: 10,468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobg56 View Post
I don't have a switch by the jacks, however I've seen a Clark headset with a switch from mono to stereo, my lightspeed has a dip switch for that too. I can't believe how expensive Bose and Light Speed are but the difference is night and day when using the cheaper ones. I had a feeling that my set up is stereo but didn't think using mono headsets could damage the intercom.
All the Flightcom headsets I have ever seen (used to sell them years ago) had stereo/ mono switches.
Look for a switch on the plastic block where the cableY’s for the two plugs.

If yours actually doesn’t, that is likely the problem because the RV-12 is wired up for stereo.
__________________
Opinions, information, and comments, are my own unless stated otherwise.
You are personally responsible for determining the suitability of any tips, ideas, etc. obtained from any post I have made in this forum.


Scott McDaniels
Hubbard, Oregon
Formerly of Van's Aircraft Engineering Prototype Shop
FAA/DAR & Pre-purchase inspection Services
A&P, EAA Technical Councelor
RV-6A (aka "Junkyard Special ")

Last edited by rvbuilder2002 : 09-28-2023 at 12:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:05 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.