VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
w/a Donation






VAF on Twitter:
@VansAirForceNet

  #1  
Old 09-17-2023, 07:25 PM
larywil larywil is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 13
Default RV-3 Autopilot

Has anyone ever installed an autopilot in an RV-3? I have yet to find any avionics manufacture include a -3 in their advertising.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2023, 08:54 PM
David Paule David Paule is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 5,824
Default

I put the Dynon one in my RV-3B, still under construction, though. Paul Dye has the Garmin one in his, which is flying.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2023, 10:14 PM
FireMedic_2009 FireMedic_2009 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 469
Default

Are you asking about hardware brackets to mount the servos? The pitch servo is mounted at the bell crank just behind the baggage compartment. That’s the only place I’ve seen a servo mounted. As far as the roll servo, it’s either in the wing at the bell crank or under the seat. On my 3 it’s mounted under the seat
__________________
RV-6A IO-320 FP sold
RV3B O-320 160hp
Donated 2018 and continue annually

Last edited by FireMedic_2009 : 09-17-2023 at 10:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2023, 12:42 AM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 13,715
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Paule View Post
I put the Dynon one in my RV-3B, still under construction, though. Paul Dye has the Garmin one in his, which is flying.

Dave
We actually have the TruTrak autopilot customized to work with the G3X. I think it was called the GX Pilot. Has been flawless with both the original G3X and with the upgrade to the G3X Touch.

We rolled our own brackets for both pitch and roll based on how itís done in other RVís. Pitch is in the usual spot by the pitch bellcrank, and roll is out in the wing next to the aileron bellcrank. It is very tight in the skinny wing, but works.

Paul
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor at Large - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2023, 09:15 AM
David Paule David Paule is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 5,824
Default

Here's a shot of the Dynon roll servo in my wing.

Click image for larger version

Name:	AP Roll Brackets.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	642.6 KB
ID:	48166

I used the stock Dynon brackets. For the ends of the servo pushrod, I used some plates I made that serve the same purpose but which are lighter than the wide steel washers commonly used.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-18-2023, 10:26 PM
JoeLofton JoeLofton is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 153
Default

For my install I mounted the Trutrak roll servo on the spar at the right wingtip.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2023, 08:48 AM
3bythelake 3bythelake is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Lakeport, CA
Posts: 34
Default

I have the Garmin autopilot in mine. Pitch servo is behind the baggage compartment, roll servo is in the right wing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:25 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.