VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Education > Flight Testing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-05-2022, 08:48 AM
rocketman1988 rocketman1988 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sunman, IN
Posts: 3,122
Default Öand

Climbing to those altitudes will likely prevent you from maintaining the recommended high power settings required for engine break inÖ
__________________
Bob
EAA Tech Counselor
Aerospace Engineer '88

RV-10-ER
N464RL
Going to Paint at Evoke!
Garmin G3X-T, Barrett EFII S32, CAI, MTV-9B

Dues+ Paid 2021,...Thanks DR+
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-05-2022, 09:36 AM
gyoung's Avatar
gyoung gyoung is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mel View Post
Typically you shouldn't venture beyond gliding distance from a runway on the first flight.
Granted. Perhaps I should have said starting with the first flight. The point is, you donít need any special tests just to land at a different airport, barring any restrictive conditions at the airport.
__________________
Greg

1950 Navion - flying
RV-6 - first flight 5/6/2021
1940 Rearwin Cloudster project in progress
4 L-2 projects on deck
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-25-2022, 09:24 AM
agent4573 agent4573 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Mountain view
Posts: 564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gyoung View Post
Granted. Perhaps I should have said starting with the first flight. The point is, you donít need any special tests just to land at a different airport, barring any restrictive conditions at the airport.
My DAR told me the first takeoff and landing HAD to be at the same airport. I'll have to reread the Ops limits when the plane comes home from Osh to verify the wording. Basically he said that I can't land at another airport because I don't know what my take off / landing numbers are, so I can't legally meet the requirements of 91.103. After the first flight, you've demonstrated a single point for TOLD info, and can legally go land at any other airport in your test area.
__________________
www.rv7build.com - out of date, will be updated soon
N69ER - built and flying - 2022 Bronze Lindy
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-25-2022, 09:45 AM
Mel's Avatar
Mel Mel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 11,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by agent4573 View Post
My DAR told me the first takeoff and landing HAD to be at the same airport. I'll have to reread the Ops limits when the plane comes home from Osh to verify the wording. Basically he said that I can't land at another airport because I don't know what my take off / landing numbers are, so I can't legally meet the requirements of 91.103. After the first flight, you've demonstrated a single point for TOLD info, and can legally go land at any other airport in your test area.
Never heard of this interpretation. If you don't know the landing requirements for your aircraft, then why would another airport be any different?

P.S. Nothing in the op lims referencing this.
__________________
Mel Asberry, DAR since the last century. Over 1,000 certifications accomplished. Discount for Veterans, Law Enforcement, Fire Fighters.
EAA Flight Advisor/Tech Counselor, Friend of the RV-1
Recipient of EAA Tony Bingelis Award and Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award
USAF Vet, High School E-LSA Project Mentor.
RV-6 Flying since 1993 (sold)
<rvmel(at)icloud.com>
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-26-2022, 10:25 AM
agent4573 agent4573 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Mountain view
Posts: 564
Default

I think there's a lot of reasons one airport can be different than another. My first flight airport was a 6300x100 ft runway. That seems safer than taking off on a 6300 ft runway and attempting to land on an 1800x40 ft grass strip surrounded by trees. In my case the DAR just made the bad choice explicitly illegal until I had TOLD information.
__________________
www.rv7build.com - out of date, will be updated soon
N69ER - built and flying - 2022 Bronze Lindy
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-26-2022, 10:51 AM
Mel's Avatar
Mel Mel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 11,517
Default

A DAR MAY add restrictions in the name of safety. I was simply stating that there is no rule that says the first take-off and landing must be at the same airport.

An example is that if I decided to do my first take-off from my 1500' X 20' strip, I would not be making my first landing here! Of course I have no intention of making my first take-off from here either.
__________________
Mel Asberry, DAR since the last century. Over 1,000 certifications accomplished. Discount for Veterans, Law Enforcement, Fire Fighters.
EAA Flight Advisor/Tech Counselor, Friend of the RV-1
Recipient of EAA Tony Bingelis Award and Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award
USAF Vet, High School E-LSA Project Mentor.
RV-6 Flying since 1993 (sold)
<rvmel(at)icloud.com>
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:28 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.