What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Garmin GPS 175 review?

Kooshball

Well Known Member
Has anyone here put the GPS 175 into their RV? If so, How satisfied are you with the result? Any issues with such a small screen?

Thx!

I put one in this spring and am using it while I work on my Instrument Rating. I don't have any experience with any other IFR navigators, but my experience with the 175 has been very good. The small screen size isn't an issue at all, I do feed both a Dynon Skyview HDX and a Garmin G5, the former having the map output in addition to the HSI.

I'm still learning, but it has been a great device. Installation wasn't difficult. Do yourself a favor and download the "Garmin Aviation Trainers" app and set it up with the GPS 175. It's a fantastic familiarization tool and will give you a feel for what the Navigator is capable of.

Flew training and IPC with a 375, using steam gauges...
A. the menu architecture is much superior to the 430: you can generally get to where you need to be within 3 actions. Not quite as clean as the G2000 [I haven't flown a 1000, but understand the intent was to make the architecture same-as-dat].
B. If i installed one, I would fashion some hand rest: the touch-screen function is great, but not-so-much if your fingers are fat, or any turbulence. Too easy to hit the wrong 'button' area on the screen.
C. I was also using FlyQ on my IPad, which made the size of the 375 irrelevant....

Last edited:
RV4 w/GPS175

Look up AOPA GPS175 and you'll find a video review of an RV4 equipped with a GPS175.

Flew training and IPC with a 375, using steam gauges...
A. the menu architecture is much superior to the 430: you can generally get to where you need to be within 3 actions. Not quite as clean as the G2000 [I haven't flown a 1000, but understand the intent was to make the architecture same-as-dat].