What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New Member Intro

hfm49

I joined the force a few months ago and figured it was time to introduce myself to the membership. My name is Harry Maroney and I am a retired commercial pilot, ex-military (C-141), and have experience as a first officer in several business jets. I am an aviation enthusiast and have owned several certified aircraft, most recently, a BE76 (Duchess).

I met Vlad, perhaps the most prolific flier at N51 where he keeps his RV 9A.
He is a great Van's enthusiast, flier, and goodwill ambassador and introduced me to the Van's experimental world. I no longer have my Duchess and have been reading up on all of the Van's models to learn of their different attributes. I like them all!

I have never built an aircraft but enjoy and appreciate the cooperative spirit and dedication displayed by the members. I've learned a lot in the short time I've been a member and plan to purchase an RV in the near future.

Welcome aboard! I?m just over a year into my -8 build and have been enjoying every minute of the experience. This web site is a fantastic source of information as is the EAA. Couldn?t live without either one of them. I highly recommend taking some of the sport air workshops that EAA offers. I did the sheet metal boot camp before I started and just recently completed their electrical class. Both excellent.

Welcome

I am also a retired military pilot (KC-135 A/E/R) and joined VAF 3 years ago. It?s a great resource for everything RV. The experimental aircraft world is a very helpful community and RVs are great little aircraft. Being a lazy senior citizen I bought my RV from a builder. I think that?s a good way to go because it?s usually less expensive than actually building one. I have a nice RV7A but dream about a 14.

Welcome and good luck.

Welcome to VAF