VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 01-08-2022, 09:54 AM
skelrad skelrad is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 307
Default Pitot Install?

Do the non-Van's AOA/pitot setups install differently than the stock ones? I have been planning all along to use a heated/regulated pitot, but since I'm a ways from deciding about Garmin or Dynon avionics, I wasn't planning on installing the actual pitot for awhile. However, while working on the wings I did follow the plans and upsize the rivet hole in the skin and spar flange as described. Now I'm looking at the pitot masts that other people have installed, and I'm wondering if I screwed up by drilling this hole. Can the Garmin or Dynon pitot use that location, or do I now have an extra hole in my skin and spar that can't be used?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	99
Size:	43.0 KB
ID:	20670  
__________________
Brandon
RV-9A: Wings
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2022, 11:53 AM
ScottK ScottK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 82
Default

Yes, you now have an extra hole. The mast types basically mount to the skin behind the spar. You can fill the hole with a plastic snap plug or a capped AN fitting. The masts I've seen look like they're meant to sit partly over the spar flange (here), so you might need to jog it a few inches to the side or notch it around your hole.
__________________
Scott K
KU42 / RV-9A [Wings]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2022, 05:13 PM
airguy's Avatar
airguy airguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Garden City, Tx
Posts: 5,864
Default

I used the existing hole for my OAT sensor.
__________________
Greg Niehues - SEL, IFR, Repairman Cert.
Garden City, TX VAF 2022 dues paid
N16GN flying 1,000 hrs and counting on 91E10; IO360, SDS, WWRV200, Dynon HDX, IFD440, G5
Built an off-plan RV9A with too much fuel and too much HP. Should drop dead any minute now.
Pending Repeat Offender - 10 kit is on order. TDI? Turbine? Stay tuned!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2022, 05:41 PM
Foghorn's Avatar
Foghorn Foghorn is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airguy View Post
I used the existing hole for my OAT sensor.
Same for me
__________________
Jeff Parker
RV8 Fastback (Tomís Dream) - Phase I (N767TS)
C195 (Red Dawg) - Flying (N4469C)
Retired Army CW4 - Helicopters, KingAirs, B737, MD11
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2022, 05:47 PM
skelrad skelrad is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airguy View Post
I used the existing hole for my OAT sensor.
Perfect! Thanks for the suggestion.
__________________
Brandon
RV-9A: Wings
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2022, 01:06 PM
edhunter edhunter is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Fredericksburg
Posts: 39
Default TTT...

I just bought a RV9A with the standard pitot tube from Van's. I want to install a heated pitot. Since not the builder, how much difficulty am I in for? Any tips/gottcha's to be aware of?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2022, 12:32 PM
maxmirot maxmirot is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Hereford
Posts: 57
Default

I am going to be upgrading my RV7 with Dynon AOA/ heated pitot and the Dynon autopilot.

My first question is location.

The autopilot goes on the left wing bell crank.
Where do I put the pitot?

Second.

I am going have to run additional wires and pressure tubing for both of these.
Right now, the only wiring is going to wing lights via a conduit.

I can cut into the conduit but I don't think there will be room for all the extras and pressure tubing.

How do I make holes in the last 3 ribs near the fuselage to hole the wires and tubes?

Max
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2022, 07:44 AM
MikeinPhoenix MikeinPhoenix is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 74
Default

Iíd like to pile onto the question about retrofitting an RV-9 with the standard pitot in hopes of installing a heated pitot without a lot of complications. I have the same situation. Any advice or suggestions would be very welcome.
__________________
Mike McCann
RV-9A
Pulsar 1
Scottsdale, AZ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2022, 12:00 PM
ScottK ScottK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxmirot View Post
The autopilot goes on the left wing bell crank. Where do I put the pitot?
...I thought the AP servo usually goes in the right wing, specifically because the left one is full of pitot hardware? Hmm. I haven't got to that part of my build yet.

Quote:
How do I make holes in the last 3 ribs near the fuselage to hole the wires and tubes?
Vans has a wing wiring guide showing where you can enlarge a tooling hole or make a new hole. See also this thread, and this one. As to how, ISTR people saying they did it by removing the wingtip and inserting a very long drill extension through existing holes, and a helper reaching through the inspection cutouts to guide it.
__________________
Scott K
KU42 / RV-9A [Wings]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:07 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.