What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Safety gear everybody should have!

KC10Chief

I've read several threads on here recently about flying through remote areas, ditching into water, and other serious situations. I haven't seen many recent posts on survival gear so, I thought I'd throw my two cents in.

I started flying GA aircraft in 1996 in Oklahoma. I joined the Air Force and did some flying in Texas and New Jersey. These days, I live in Alaska and fly here. I also fly for the Air Force. I have been to several different survival courses. I have been to a water survival course in Florida, a combat / outdoor survival course in Washington state, and an arctic survival course near Fairbanks, Alaska. I'm by no means an expert but I did learn a lot. I found them a lot more useful for flying GA, than for flying a big Air Force jet where I likely wouldn't survive any kind of crash. HA! The course I learned the most from, was probably the arctic survival course in Fairbanks. It was a truly miserable experience. It was -40 degrees when I was out there and we stayed out there for three days, building shelters and fires, catching rabbits and other not fun stuff. None of these courses were fun at all. But I suppose that being stranded out in the wilderness wouldn't be either. I'm confident that I could survive out in the woods for a few days, even though it would totally suck.