What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Ground test for TruTrak autopilot

mbuto

Hello!

I recently had my local avionics shop replace the pitot static block on my TruTrak a/p. They believe all is well but advise a ground and flight check (sensible). The original manual does suggest what to do, but how to do it since I did not do the original build or install. I would appreciate some help here.

TiA,

Mike

Ground check

Download the manual from Trutrak, for my Autopilot the ground checks were very clearly explained.
Can’t remember if there was a separate Install manual.

Download the manual from Trutrak, for my Autopilot the ground checks were very clearly explained.
Can’t remember if there was a separate Install manual.

I have the manual, but the 'how to' part is greek to me because I have no experience with anything inside the a/c. For example: the first sentence in the procedure: "The check-out procedure is to verify that the servos run and in the correct direction." I know what servos are, but where are they? How do you verify what direction they are running in? What is correct and what isn't? So, for me, they are not clearly explained at all.

I have the manual, but the 'how to' part is greek to me because I have no experience with anything inside the a/c. For example: the first sentence in the procedure: "The check-out procedure is to verify that the servos run and in the correct direction." I know what servos are, but where are they? How do you verify what direction they are running in? What is correct and what isn't? So, for me, they are not clearly explained at all.