What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Need a new tablet to run Garmin Pilot

donaziza

Well Known Member
Hey guys, I've been using a Nexus 9 in my 8 to run Garmin Pilot for going onto 9 years now. Its a 6" by 9" tablet, and I've loved it, because I could SEE it in bright sunlight. Well. its not working so-to-very good anymore, and Google doesn't make Nexus anymore. I know there's that iPad Pro that Dougie R has, but that thing is gynormous, ie, I can't fit it in my cockpit. Anybody got any ideas on a tablet bright enough to see in sunlight, but not bigger than 6 by 9 inches?? Android, iPad, whatever.

I have used both android tablets and apple ones with garmin pilot and always thought garmin pilot was better on the ipad. I'd just get the cheapest ipad that meets your size but make sure to get the cellular version so it has a gps.

Every airline I know of uses iPad pro’s with the Pivot case and mounting system and it honestly works great. I know of some smaller operators using iPad mini’s as well but we use iPad Pros.
I’m not sure if it’s still the case or not but it used to be that to get the integrated gps you needed to buy a cellular iPad and the wifi only ones didn’t have it so you’d need a Bluetooth gps.

I have used both android tablets and apple ones with garmin pilot and always thought garmin pilot was better on the ipad. I'd just get the cheapest ipad that meets your size but make sure to get the cellular version so it has a gps.

Hey Dave, I thought an iPad was an iPad. I never heard of this "cellular" version. Can you elaborate a bit??:D

I run iFlyGPS on a Samsung Galaxy Tab A (2020)(5" x 8") and it seems bright enough. The iFlyGPS has 3 brightness setting.
It fits in a RAM mount for small tablets (but bigger than the RAM mount for my defunct Nexus 7).

Hey Dave, I thought an iPad was an iPad. I never heard of this "cellular" version. Can you elaborate a bit??:D