What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

ADS-B Traffic

RV-4

Well Known Member
Hello everyone

I just installed a Taibeacon-X in my -4 and as I'm new to this I was wondering what traffic should I see on my 796 ?

I know that I should see all ADS-B traffic around me ( which I do) but should I also see the other ''Transponder equipped Mode-C traffic??

I was flying a loose formation with a friend the other day and he ( he's ADS-B IN equipped ) could see me ( it means my ADS-B OUT is working I guess ) but I could not see him...

Is this normal or is there something not up to speed with my installation??

( If you have seen my previous post of my Tailbeacon-X installation in the wingtip of my -4, I will be replacing the aluminum bracket with a fiberglass bracket as it may have shielded the antenna on a couple occasions as reported by ATC..)

Your imputs will be appreciated

Thanks

Bruno
[email protected]

I know that I should see all ADS-B traffic around me ( which I do) but should I also see the other ''Transponder equipped Mode-C traffic??

Unfortunately, no. Seems all development on affordable MLAT traffic systems has stopped - we're all waiting for everyone to just buy ADS-B.

Here's a prediction - someone will come up with a traffic system that uses cameras which will be more helpful and more accurate than even ADS-B. I'd do it, but I'm too dumb, too old, and too lazy!

To see transponder only traffic, here in the US:
You communicate with adsb ground station. ATC radar sees other aircraft, sends info to ground stations. Ground station sends it up to you. Since you’re in Canada I don’t think you have ground stations, and I have no idea if the faa radar sends out info on aircraft over the border.