What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

FAA acts on ELT Straps / 406Mhz on the Horizon?

I'm not surprised. I've always been leery about the use of Velcro for this purpose.

406 MHz ELT mandate on the horizon? There is no reference to this happening in the referenced article. Only the "hope" by a 406 MHz ELT manufacturer rep that the discussion on mandatory equipage gets a fresh look by the FAA.

I am not a marketing expert but it appears to me that a company that makes 406 MHz ELTs would not oppose efforts to force them on all US GA aircraft. That is just a wild guess with nothing to prove that it is true.

Last edited:
bracket rating???

I assume that the ELT bracket should survive an instantaneous deceleration of about 40g.
seems to me that if the bracket is properly designed, the strap would only serve to keep the ELT in alignment so that the horns/tabs etc. on the bracket would take the force. My Ameri-King metal latch type strap would probably only last as long as my fire extinguisher clip in a tumbling type accident.
...of course, if you alter the position, angle, attachment of the bracket, then all bets are off....the thing IS going to hit you in the back of the head after hitting the brakes while taxiing! :)
I agree the this has nothing to do with the frequency or type of ELT; just sounds like an opportunistic response to sell a new product!

This is a silly move on the FAA's part. A 2" square of velcro can support 175lb if seated properly. If you sandwich the velcro strap it can be made exponentially stronger. The solution should be to change the design of the strap rather than ban velcro altogether. It would also be advisable to beef up the connector between the antenna wire and the ELT. Mine is a small cannon plug that is not very strong and has no strain relief.