What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Gascolator placement

hcccs

Well Known Member
A guy in Germany, Dirk Schlichtenhorst (RV8R.DE), has placed his gascolator inside the cockpit beneath the floorboard as seen in the picture. Being an RV-4 builder I found this solution very appealing since room on the firewall is somewhat problematic. I have mailed him and asked him how he drains it but I haven't had any reply so far. Is it OK to place it like this?

Hans, I did the same as Hans though not knowingly. See it here.

I view it as a filter, not a gascolator (if you view the difference as being a water trap.)

I talked to Ken at VANS wayback about filters, and he said that in an RV you would find any water at the main wing drains, not in the gascolator. That made complete sense to me. So once you accept that point, you are only really trying to filter the fuel. The Andair unit does a good job at that also.

What I did not want was a fuel cooking pot on the firewall. This approach simplified everything.

I only drain it very occasionally in all honesty and I just use a wide glass jar and a finger. I have never had a problem. I do the wing drains every time I pull it out of the hanger and have once or twice found a bead of water there after washing it.

After about 70 hours I took it to bits but there was almost no dirt in it either. I guess I get supplied with clean fuel.

I also did something quite similar in my RV4 without knowing it. I placed two gascolators in the outer floorboard compartments (one for each tank). They are located such that the drain protrudes through the floorboard and can be drained preflight. As noted, I rarely find anything in them, more often a few drops of water in the wing tank drains. I have taken them apart once to clean - it is difficult to not make a mess and that is the downside of this placement!

Best regards,
Steve H.
N144SH

In line filter