What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Top VS rib won't fit

Jeff R

Well Known Member
Hi,

I am just starting out and am building the VS. All the spars and ribs are fitting great except for the forward part of the top rib (VS-706, I believe). It seems like it is too long. All the holes line up except for the two forward of the tab (well, there is just one hole per side on the rib itself, but the skin of the VS has two). I can't post any pictures to show until Monday. I have the video Van's sells and I see how it is supposed to be, but it it like the forward quarter inch or so needs to be trimmed back. I try to bend it to get it to fit, but it takes a pretty big bend to get it in, then the holes aren't anywhere close to lining up.

Has anyone else come across this? Am I explaining myself ok?

Also, this clecoing is hard on the old hands! I guess one's hands get used to it after a while.

Jeff

I'm trying to picture what you are saying, I'm at work and my plans are at home. If I remember correctly, the VS skin has two extra holes near the leading edge. Just cleco the rib in place, making sure it is snug in the skin, and drill the two #40 into the rib using the holes in the skin as a guide.

Last edited:
Jeff R said:
Also, this clecoing is hard on the old hands! I guess one's hands get used to it after a while.

Jeff

Hi Jeff. The clecoing only gets worse. The wings have sooooooo many more cleoes. I got me one of those pneumatic cleco devices because my right elbow doesn't like all the twisting that is needed to insert and remove clecoes from un-drilled holes. I recommend the "pistol grip" type. I got the "straight" cleco device and now I believe I would rather have the pistol type. Tried to save a buck.

I also got a pneumatic squeeze because I'm unable to do many 1/8 rivets before my elbow starts to cry and complain. Old age ain't really all bad - yeah - right!

Jeff R said: