What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Oil filter seal leaking / loss of torque

rjcthree

Well Known Member
I’m a little stumped. It’s not like I’m new to spin on filters.

I discovered oil leaking from the oil filter seal this morning following a finding of a mess on the belly of the AC. The first hint was during preflight when the oil level was 1/4 qt lower than yesterday’s flight, (I admit to cleaning the bugs off yesterday, but didn’t look under). After removing the cowling to inspect and clean, I was able to reach over and turn it a little less than 1/4 turn tighter with one hand, and almost 1/3 turn total with the torque wrench. I torqued this one accurately when first installed about 10 hours ago, and it was still wired and marked. The oil leak flow path is clear, it was easy to identify. It’s also messy.

This is the second time this has happened this year, same order of Tempest EZ turn filters sourced from Aircraft Spruce. The first time I attributed it to maybe my torquing effort being obstructed, as it’s tight in there, but with a stubby wrench offset I don’t have that issue anymore. The first time was about 15 hours in from an oil change, tightening to spec stopped the leak. I retightened this time too (and wired and marked), we’ll see what happens. In both cases, I did intentionally pre alloy oil or DC4 to the gasket, the steel interface of the gasket was wiped dry and clean with a dry wipe.

Engine is an H2, oil is aero shell w15w50 with camguard, oil pressure is 55/65-70/95 psi idle/cruise/max, oil temps in cruise 165F-190F depending on phase of flight, OAT and leaning. The filter is a Tempest AA48103-2.

Any ideas would be helpful.

Last edited: