What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

I had a mishap this morning.....

kpaulsen

which I hope doesn't turn into a major problem. While working on the baffles I guess I put too much of my weight on the front of the plane (RV7) and it nosed over and the propeller hub hit the floor pretty hard. My main concern is if I damaged the engine. There doesn't appear to be any damage to the propeller or hub but what can I do to check if anything in the engine got bent or damaged, the engine is new and hasn't been run yet (TMX I0360).

The second concern is why is the plane so nose heavy. I don't have the VS, HS or wings installed but I've been doing FWF work for the last several months with no problems. After this mornings mishap I put sand bags in the tail to make sure it stays down but I'm worried I have a weight & balance issue. Should the plane be so nose heavy with just the engine and no wings or tail feathers?

It's very common to be nose heavy like that without the emp in place. I've seen people with cinder blocks on the aft deck to hold them down.

Need some aft ballast

All the missing parts you mention would move the actual CG aft - you're probably pretty far forward as is so it doesn't sound unusual that the aircraft would nose over.

Lycoming has a service bulletin - 475C - that I think would technically apply here, but I suspect there is no issue with that. On the other hand, I'd probably get in touch with Mahlon at Mattituck and get his thoughts on checking over the engine.

Dan

WOW!! That's too soon for a prop strike!! I would at least set up a dial indicator on the engine prop flange and check the runout. You should do it from the backside of the flange and also on the circumferential edge to see if you possibly bent the crankshaft. Is it a C/S Hartzell? I would also ask the prop MFG for any advice and the engine MGF for advice. Sure don't want to find a problem in flight.