What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Home Brew Field Strength Meter

wirejock

Well Known Member
I love home made tools. My Mentor, Dave recently ignited my passion for electronics. I have been an amateur radio operator for a long time. KI0TK. I also was a radio technician quite a few years. I fixed my 2m/70cm handie talkie and Soortys gave me $25 off a new SP400. My old SP200 was T.U.
Anyway.
This is a pretty handy little box. Field Strength Meter
The meter is used to scan for RF fields. You can scan your radio/antenna system to see the radiation pattern, check for EMI leaks in the airplane or house. Lots of uses. Looking for RF noise is primary purpose. Noise like LED switching or coax leaks can be found pretty quickly.
I had one long ago and lost it. Super useful and very easy to assemble with pieces of wire. I used pieces of Cat 5 data wire I had laying around. It solders easy.

I offered to our Colorado builders but no one replied.
I have enough of the diodes, capacitors and potentiometers for four more units plus enough diodes and capacitors for quite a few meters.
All you need is a 50uA (micro amp) meter movement and a project box. Maybe $15 for both. The other parts (2-diodes, 1-capacitor, 1-potentiometer) free to anyone interested. I'll send by snail mail. You buy the meter and box. If additional builders want the diodes and caps, you can buy the 100K pot pretty cheap. I may throw in a BNC jack if there are any in my hobby box.

This company has some good deals. I got the meter from them. They also have project boxes and pots. Make sure the box is deep enough.
www.jpmsupply.com/