What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Looking for interesting planes and stories

RogerW

I'm New Here
Hello,

I'm a new pilot (just passed my checkride in June!).

I've had something on my mind for a while. I used to make a vlog and I follow all the normal people (Trent, Cory, Mike Patey, Flightchops, etc). However, I'm wanting to do something different.

One of my favorite car sites is Petrolicious. Why? Because each film is a love story between the car and it's owner. Beautifully shot and with great cars and great stories.

Why can't aviation have something similar? We have lots of interesting aircraft and great people who love them.

As for me, I'm 55 and finally getting my license after having family and life prevent me. After my son passed away from cancer, I started vlogging to help me heal. I haven't been as busy lately because I really have been looking for something I really want to shoot.

I want to restart my filmmaking by starting on this project. This is truly just a passion project on my part. However, I need subjects. I'm looking for interesting aircraft and stories. As I've been learning, RV people have a special love for their planes.

Shooting an episode will probably take a day or two. If you would like to help, have an interesting story to tell, or own and interesting aircraft that you would like to share with the community, please message me. I'm in VA, so I would like to start closer to home, but let's hear the stories. In addition to films, the site will also have articles.

It's called "Aviatist - for the love of flying".

Oh, I'm also planning to get an RV6 next year. My first tailwheel lesson is this Saturday!

Thanks,
Roger Wyatt

Culpeper KCJR

Culpeper airport has some interesting airplanes and VERY nice people.
Message me and I'll pass along cell #
Dave

Sounds interesting!