What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

lead-alternative for protecting valve seats

KayS

Well Known Member
this weekend i stumbled over something at a swiss gas station and the current discussion about G100UL came to mind. here's the stuff...

https://motorex.com/en-us/valve-guard--40918

they sold the bottle for 10 bucks or so. switzerland is not known for being an el cheapo country.

i am no engine expert and have no clue if lubricating valve seats is really needed and if so for what kind of engines that would apply.

but in case you think it's a good idea to lubricate your valve seats and in the future absence of 100LL... does anyone has experiences with that kind of product as an alternative to leaded avgas?

Kay

Last edited:
Hi Kay,

Before you part with your hard earned cash, it may pay to read some of John Deakin’s articles. Here’s one to get you started, but he’s got plenty on engine operation, leaning etc.

https://www.avweb.com/features/pelicans-perch-55lead-in-the-hogwash/

Tom
RV-7

Tom:

Thanks for sharing.

Those that are old enough to remember lead in our car gas can remember the same scare tactics when TEL was removed from car gas.

Nothing happened to old car engines when we went lead free fuel.

Last edited:
Tom:

Thanks for sharing.

Those of use that are old enough to remember lead in our car gas can remember the same scare tactics when TEL was removed from car gas.

Nothing happened to old car engines when we went lead free fuel.

The auto companies moved to different alloys for valves and seats when lead went away. I speculate that many engines of that era lost compression and either died early than they should have or had the valves replaced. I was barely a teenager, so not yet working on engines.

My guess is that Lyc moved to the then standard alloys for valves and seats in the 80's as the older stuff was probably harder to get.

Larry

Last edited: