What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Is it too much to ask?

Mhesser

Trim those cable ties please!!
I’m a flyer not a builder but back in the old days this would have been a write up when doing A/C maintenance in the USAF. Bloody hands, arms and wrists can be averted with a few seconds trimming cable ties properly.
Think about next time you may need to go in there or the next owner of your beautiful build.

Am I asking too much?

Attachments

• E0F7A4B4-0FC3-4A33-818F-09FAADDE638C.jpg
    E0F7A4B4-0FC3-4A33-818F-09FAADDE638C.jpg
    86 KB · Views: 286
I thought the recommendation was to leave 3 teeth showing on the cuts. I didn't think you were supposed to cut them flush.

Old memories

I’m remembering back to my days in missile and a/c maintenance in the USAF 30 years ago we trimmed them all flush. We even used a razor blade if able so the next guy didn’t end up with a bloody arm.
Curious to hear the consensus on this today…

Flush side cutter

I use a flush side cutter tool and try to cut them off as square as possible. This tool does not seem to leave as sharp an edge as a regular side cutter, or snips etc.

As we get older we can get cut and bleed more easily too! :(

Also try to not have zip ties to engine mounts or metal tubing at all if you can help it without protecting the metal tubing! I like it put a wrap of self vulcanizing silicone tape or even electrical tape on the tubing first.. I’ve seen the zip ties wear away the powder coat and even start to wear the engine mount!

I hate those pointy sharp ends. I cut mine with side cutters that leave a little still sticking out. I touch those ends with a hot flat soldering tip to melt them down and flush with the locking collar.