What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

-7 Prop Choices/Confusion!

flyin_jibbs

Hi all,

Just to get it out of the way, I am NEW to Vans and planes altogether! Im a 15 year career helicopter guy buying my first plane. Ok, so self disclaimer out of the way.

Now, I am looking for a new prop for a -7 I have just bought. I would like to go composite, 2 blade. The current prop is the older alum version that is also well out of its 6 year overhaul spec.

So I have made a few phone calls to both Vans and Hartzell, as well as still waiting to get somebody on the phone at WW.

Vans doesn't list/won't sell a 72" Comp C/S prop because they never (for unknown reasons to them) vibrationally tested the 72" version, and dont plan to. They do however list the 74" but it isn't "recommended" for the -7, only the 6A, 7A and 8/8A, and 14A....

The rep did tell me however hes sold numerous 74" to -7 owners. And of course there is a few out there on -14's, but I assume that one sits higher? Even though its still not on the recommended list from Vans. Lookin at you Steve (FlightChops) haha :D;)

So whats the deal? Is the 74" too close for comfort on clearance? Lack of in depth knowledge question here but what makes the -8 any different/better than the -7 or -14 for that matter?

Im still likely leaning towards a WW if I could ever get them to answer/call back/provide info but Im just so confused on the Hartzell/Vans deal...

Any insight greatly appreciated by this newb!

Something you didn’t mention: take a look at your weight and balance. Putting a lighter prop on the nose will move the cg aft, maybe too much?

I think Vans recommendation on prop diameters is based on certified airplanes. It's in the FAR's somewhere (pt. 23?) that a trike needs 7" of ground clearance and a tailwheel needs 9" in takeoff or taxi attitude, whichever is less.

74 not recommended