What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

EAA Avionics workshop vs. AEA experimental avionics workshop

Mike327

I'm New Here
Has anyone taken both the EAA and AEA avionics workshops and can compare the quality of the instruction and pertinence to installing your own Garmin panel? Or taken either course and could provide some feedback on their usefulness?

Both courses are being offered this January and I’m trying to decide which one would be more beneficial for building a garmin panel and wiring the plane?

This is my first build so I suspect either course would be beneficial but am looking for the audience opinions on these classes.

I can't offer a comparison, but I took the AEA class a couple of months ago and it was great. Very Garmin focused. Taught by Levi Self who owns an RV and is a former Garmin project engineer that now runs an avionics shop at Lees Summit.

On the last day they had a guy from Garmin who's building an RV10 come in to answer questions and help with system planning if you so choose, but it's very low pressure, not a sales pitch at all.

I described my mission profile and he gave me a list of what boxes I'd need to make that happen.

AEA

The AEA course was excellent, especially if you are going with Garmin. I knew both about avionics or wiring before the course and I feel confident now that I can wire the plane myself. Highly recommended!

I haven't taken the EAA course, but I did take the AEA course and found it very helpful and well worth the time/$ if you are installing & wiring a Garmin panel.