VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 01-22-2022, 06:28 PM
DanH's Avatar
DanH DanH is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 08A
Posts: 10,702
Default 696 Power/Data Plug Issue

I seem to have a connection problem at the 4-pin power/data plug on my 696. Anyone seen this before?

Looks like the trick is determining if the intermittent connection is in the plug, the socket, or the socket's connection to the motherboard. I suspect the motherboard connection. 696 plugs don't seem to withstand much stress.

Video link below. Watch the serial port #1 input counter on the EFIS screen when my finger moves the plug back and forth.

https://www.danhorton.net/Misc/GPS69..._153720765.mp4
__________________
Dan Horton
RV-8 SS
Barrett IO-390
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2022, 07:56 AM
AlexPeterson's Avatar
AlexPeterson AlexPeterson is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ottertail, MN
Posts: 2,510
Default

Dan - I'm no help, but I thought that cord design was awful. It is impossible to pull the plug out of the unit without applying a lot of bending forces at the same time. I used to try to dig it out with a fingernail closer to the location where the friction was, instead of off to the side where one could actually grab.

Anyone nearby have a cord Dan could try? Might be able to eliminate one thing.

Touching each solder joint with a hot iron on the board might be simple to try, if you haven't already.

Good luck -
__________________
Alex Peterson
RV6A N66AP 1750+ hours
KADC, Wadena, MN
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2022, 12:29 PM
DanH's Avatar
DanH DanH is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 08A
Posts: 10,702
Default

Popped the case (10 screws, no big deal) to take a look at the power/data's socket connections to the board. I could only access one side without risk, but it looks pretty robust to me...five soldered connections and two plastic locator pins (photo below). Watched the connections with a magnifier while gently prying the socket and could detect no relative movement with the board. Decided not to fool with it any further...no significant electronics experience.

Perhaps some socket wear and resistive debris due to vibration. Other than spray contact cleaner, is there any good way to clean up small sockets?
-
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20220123_123748398.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	377.1 KB
ID:	21356  
__________________
Dan Horton
RV-8 SS
Barrett IO-390
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2022, 01:10 PM
Ralph Inkster Ralph Inkster is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 1,764
Default

We had a 696 years ago where the power cord socket was jarred loose of the circuit board. Had a friend resolder the connections but it was problematic in the long run, we opted to replace the unit.
__________________
Ralph
built a few RVs, rebuilt a few more, hot rodded more, & maintained/updated a big bunch more
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2022, 09:34 PM
johnbright's Avatar
johnbright johnbright is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Newport News, Va
Posts: 436
Default Reflow

If it were me, I would reflow those joints unless you have confirmed the problem to be in the plug. The photo is not crystal clear but they look questionable IMO, maybe they were hand soldered at original manufacture.

I have repaired a couple TVs and an automotive environmental control module by reflowing CB solder joints at power devices where solder cracked due to thermal cycling, could be an ROHS thing which is what Ray Allen says about past failures of a couple of their devices.

I don’t think your issue is thermal because it’s not at a power device but maybe reflowing those joints will fix it unless the problem is in the plug.
.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	C63425C0-7699-4E3A-995C-14AC9658D8F1.png
Views:	28
Size:	928.6 KB
ID:	21430  
__________________
John Bright, RV-6A, N1921R, at FWF
O-360, 8.5:1, vert sump, dual SDS EFI EM-5-F
Z101 as a template, links

Last edited by johnbright : 01-24-2022 at 09:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2022, 07:59 AM
ob_seven ob_seven is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 24
Default Plug type???

Hi DanH,

Well, I never had those plug issues. I have 3 695, and none of them has a problem with the power supply plug.

One possibility : I never tried to power the device from USB, but does that work?

Did any of you identified the plug brand? I searched for a long time, but that looks to be a proprietary design. I have to buy cables for 60$, for a piece of wire and a plug...

Cheers from a 695 lover!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2022, 01:49 PM
Ralph Inkster Ralph Inkster is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 1,764
Default

Our problem wasn't the plug, but the socket jarred loose from the circuit board.
I didn't have a great amount of love for the plug style either, but that's a different discussion.
__________________
Ralph
built a few RVs, rebuilt a few more, hot rodded more, & maintained/updated a big bunch more
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:59 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.