What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

general aviation painting business

Skeejere

Okay friends...advice welcome. I'm new at this so be gentle.

I'd like to go back to school and finish the last 20 years of my working life doing something aviation related. Specifically general aviation related.

Interested in learning to paint general aviation planes for hire some day. Is there a place to go to school to learn how to do this? Do people start out gaining experience in the auto painting industry and then transition to aviation eventually?

Or perhaps on the job training? Maybe there is another general aviation painting business, perhaps one that is geographically very distant that wouldn't be opposed to employing or training "future competition"

I realize there are some significant environmental and equipment considerations for this type of business.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Jeremy

Paint school

I think Sherwin Williams has a paint school. Since many aviation painter use SW, I would start there.
Also, look into a job or internship at Glo Aircraft Painting in Roanoke, TX. They are one of the best.

Last edited:
The people I know who have (or had) professional aircraft paint shops started out in the automotive world.

But I'd call Jason over at Evoke Aviation in Gadsden Alabama and ask how he got his start. IIRC, he was an auto guy too. He has one of the premier RV paint shops in the nation.

Last edited: