VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 01-25-2009, 07:18 AM
Jerry Carter's Avatar
Jerry Carter Jerry Carter is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montrose, CO
Posts: 129
Default Push to talk wiring

Almost done with wiring, but I need a little help on wiring the push to talk switches. My Stark-supplied harness has two bundled wires of six wires each coming from the PMA9000X audio panel for the headphone and mic jacks. I have wired the phone jacks with no problem. The three wires for each of the mic jacks are labeled Hi, Lo and Key. I understand where these wires go on the mic jacks. My question is where to put the PTT wires from the sticks. If I attach one of the wires to the key terminal on the mic jack along with the other wire from the audio panel, where does the other wire from the stick go? Can it just go to aircraft ground, or should it run to the mic jack and attach to the common terminal there?

I can call Stark tomorrow, but I thought the issue may come up for others, too.

Thanks!
__________________
Jerry Carter
RV-8A sold
RV-7 sold
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2009, 07:28 AM
L.Adamson's Avatar
L.Adamson L.Adamson is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: KSLC
Posts: 4,021
Default

The PTT wires go to key (which is labeled on a PS Engineering schematic as Pilot/Co-pilot PTT) & mic lo.

I just recently installed a PS Engineering 8000B. It works great.

edit. That means two wires soldered to two terminals on the mic jacks

L.Adamson ---- RV6A

Last edited by L.Adamson : 01-25-2009 at 07:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2009, 07:37 AM
Jerry Carter's Avatar
Jerry Carter Jerry Carter is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montrose, CO
Posts: 129
Default

Thanks for the quick reply!
__________________
Jerry Carter
RV-8A sold
RV-7 sold
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:16 AM
breister breister is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,231
Default

Just to complete the thought:

"Low" is actually a ground. If you wire the PTT wire onto the mic receptacle, it is assumed you are using the sort of headset with a PTT switch on the cable. Most of us mount a remote PTT switch on the stick or throttle quadrant, so that is where this wire needs to go - and the PTT switch therefore needs a ground wire returning to the same ground source used by the audio panel to avoid stray electrons.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2009, 09:33 AM
Jerry Carter's Avatar
Jerry Carter Jerry Carter is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montrose, CO
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by breister View Post
Just to complete the thought:

"Low" is actually a ground. If you wire the PTT wire onto the mic receptacle, it is assumed you are using the sort of headset with a PTT switch on the cable. Most of us mount a remote PTT switch on the stick or throttle quadrant, so that is where this wire needs to go - and the PTT switch therefore needs a ground wire returning to the same ground source used by the audio panel to avoid stray electrons.
So, if the audio panel is grounded at the firewall ground block, I can just run the second wire from the stick to the firewall ground block? And the other wire attaches to the PTT terminal of the mic jack along with the PTT wire from the audio panel?
__________________
Jerry Carter
RV-8A sold
RV-7 sold
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2009, 11:40 AM
L.Adamson's Avatar
L.Adamson L.Adamson is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: KSLC
Posts: 4,021
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Carter View Post
So, if the audio panel is grounded at the firewall ground block, I can just run the second wire from the stick to the firewall ground block? And the other wire attaches to the PTT terminal of the mic jack along with the PTT wire from the audio panel?
That's the method that my SoftCom intercom used. And for all I know, the mic lo pins might just go directly to the radios ground also. However, I just used the wiring diagrams supplied with the audio panel. For instance, the "mic swap" switch just grounds to the aircraft, rather than returning to a audio panel pin.

L.Adamson
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2009, 08:17 PM
breister breister is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Carter View Post
So, if the audio panel is grounded at the firewall ground block, I can just run the second wire from the stick to the firewall ground block? And the other wire attaches to the PTT terminal of the mic jack along with the PTT wire from the audio panel?
Yes. Theoretically, any other perfect ground would work, too - but grounds in real life are funny. Small changes in resistance / location can cause weird effects. I don't know how sensitive the PTT is to these effects.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-28-2014, 09:38 AM
Alan W. Alan W. is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 16
Default

Always run all mic / headset / PTT grounds to the same point as per the reason stated by breister
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-28-2014, 12:09 PM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 6,717
Default

Any good ground is ok for the PTT.
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 2000+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags, MTV-9 prop
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-16-2022, 07:07 AM
Rodney Rodney is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Friendswood, TX
Posts: 75
Default Help w PTT

Wired PTT and shows TX but sidetone goes away and doesn’t transmit.
Two wires to PTT. Does it matter which wire goes to which terminal on switch ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.