What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Tailwheel squirrely solutions?

dmat

Well Known Member
Advertiser
So... I flew my new-to-me 6 this weekend for the first time and noticed that on touch down of the tailwheel the tail wants to veer to the right.

I am new to tailwheels so I am not sure what to check. I have a doug bell fork and vans wheel.

A couple of things I noticed after looking at the tailwheel:
- tailwheel has uneven wear (passenger side of tire is worn more)
-chain links are different count on each side (11 on the pilot and 12 on the passenger side)
- control arm (IMO) seems loose but I am not sure if that is acceptable play.

Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

My first thought was to replace the wheel and see if that does anything.

D

Last edited:
I would also check the wear on the centering lock mechanism it might be more worn on one side than the other causing this problem.

RV-6 tailwheel issue

You should probably call Flyboy’s accessories and discuss this with them. They have all sorts of tailwheel products. You may have a worn out tail spring, worn out links, worn out tail wheel assembly or the wheel itself. They are very knowledgeable and I’m sure they will have what you need.

tel:888-835-9269

The tailwheel might be a symptom and not the whole cause. Clamp a couple of long straight pieces of angle to the brake rotors and compare them to the centerline of the aircraft. Might be an alignment issue.

The different length chains are weird. Are they tight or have a little slack? My tail lynx are rigged with a little and equal slack and I like the way it gives the rudder a chance to do some work before beginning to steer the fork.

Ed Holyoke

Is the wheel aligned with the rudder? I’ve flown planes where the wheel is t aligned, and when you are rolling out straight, as the wheel comes down, the plane swerves to where the wheel is pointing.