What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Close Call in Marlette: DEER!

goatflieg

Well Known Member
I've had some experience with deer in cars; hit one long ago; missed many since then. I've read and heard stories about deer on airports; seen a few myself and tried to keep vigilant. But these caught me by surprise. Caught on video and worth sharing. Stay safe out there.
AM-JKLXYP_oWvytyiInTOPI4uWhkyCN8iDkflVgdCaP8xCFs7RzFhhuFneeL58THH8eatLdavkNZiAGLTTlXJVllvPqnB5dCxV57ocS15jqXkupnoKZ3d3opOveNlC1EA5JdJqHjIdnoF5B6wxEWp1Cx-vax=w648-h360

https://youtu.be/kg-3l2xgVcQ

Last edited:
Dang! But you kept your cool and kept on flying - well done.

Great video - nice callouts and smooth flying.

That was pretty close Martin. I skimmed over a bald eagle the other day near KTEW. A deer is a whole different category!!

Nice job Martin! I think that whenever I see deer out on the road, there’s usually two or three, especially when driving in northern Michigan. The deer in southern Michigan seem like they are a little bigger - maybe because they are eating corn rather than pine cones. The quick maneuverability of our RV’s, plus a cool head made a difference.

I like to fly for cheap fuel, since I’m just out flying around anyway, but it’s amazing what cheap fuel costs now. I see that as of 7/14 the 100LL price is $7.00 at 77G, autofuel at $6.50. I guess those are competitive prices now. At my airport (KHAO) it’s $8.07 full service (no self serve), so I get it elsewhere nearby for about $6.50.

Nicely done Martin, yep, wildlife is a hazard to keep a serious lookout for.
I once spotted a group of 4 deer on the left side of the runway about 500' from the threshold, just as I was flaring.
That was a surprise. They were standing still, brown on brownish turf, making them difficult to see.