What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Kit Question

dwollen89

Well Known Member
Question for the group. I'm new to building and after a looooong wait, I just received my first kit yesterday from Vans! I am very excited to get going! I'm inventorying my tail kit and I'm finding a lot of parts that are obviously pre-owned. Many parts don't have the blue plastic film, some have already been partially deburred and I've even found some that are partially dimpled. I feel like I bought a used kit :mad: Is this normal?

I don’t think you received any pre-owned parts. Some of the thicker and harder to dimple parts are done for you by the factory.

depending on the shape of the part a few things have to be formed before they're heat treated i.e. the soft alloy gets the formed then heat treated after. Those parts aren't going to have blue film on them.

Having said that, I don't remember any empennage parts being pre-dimpled on my 7 kit. You didn't say what you're building so maybe it's different?

call Vans tomorrow if you want to confirm one way or the other.

Last edited:
Lack of Blue Film is Normal

I just picked up my first RV-10 kit (wings) last week and took the factory tour while at Van's. One of the first things our tour guide covered was the blue film on many of the parts, and how apparently missing blue film leads to one of the most common types of calls that they get. As previously mentioned, it is due to the shape of the part (usually a compound curve). The blue film is applied to the flat sheet material that is already in a T3 state when received in the factory and will only be on parts that can be formed in this hardened state.

Some parts on my 14 Emp were dimpled because they were in locations where you couldn't do it.

Some kit parts get heat treated. for those parts. they wont have any plastic in place, and usually they have a dull finish from being in the heat treat bath.