VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > GPS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 01-13-2022, 04:33 PM
jliltd's Avatar
jliltd jliltd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Rancho San Lorenzo
Posts: 1,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilot135pd View Post
So if I want to hide my GDL39 can I install a remote ADSB antenna and get GPS into it from the Aera 660 like in this wiring diagram or does the GDL39 need it's own GPS antenna? My drawing is very crude but I think shows what I'm trying to do.

AERA 660 has an external GPS antenna connected

G5s have an external GPS antenna connected

GDL 39 doesn't have an external antenna (unless you guys tell me it's needed)
Your question being answered, your diagram may be trouble. The GDL 39 and aera 660 have to be connected with both TX and RX wires set to the same data format of "GARMIN DATA TRANSFER". So your blue wire in the diagram is also going to the G5's RX pin in parallel with the GDL 39. You can't do that since the data formats are not compatible. So the G5's want the different data format setting of "AVIATION IN/NMEA & VHF OUT" so you would have to send that to them on their own channel from the 660 with that proper format. So in your example it would be 660 blue wire to GDL 39 Green/White wire, 660 yellow wire to GDL 39 Green Wire. For that connection the area 660 Data Channel 1 (TX1 and RX1) would be set to "GARMIN DATA TRANSFER". Then you would connect the 660 Orange wire to the G5's pin 4. For that connection the aera 660 Data Channel 2 (TX2) would be set to "AVIATION IN/NMEA & VHF OUT". For extra points you could take this same "orange" circuit and route it to a VHF com that allows for remote standby tuning via the SL-40 protocol. That works because those radios use the same data protocol setting as the G5's.
__________________
Jim Ivey
RV-8
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-13-2022, 04:38 PM
jliltd's Avatar
jliltd jliltd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Rancho San Lorenzo
Posts: 1,320
Default

Oops. You said you had a GDL 39, which is a portable unit. But I just noticed you put pin number for connections on your diagram. If you have a DSUB connector then you have a GDL 39R, not a 39. Also, that unit only has a 9 pin connector and you are showing to use pins 13 and 14, which the GDL 39R does not have.

Do a little homework and get back to us here.
__________________
Jim Ivey
RV-8
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-13-2022, 04:38 PM
Pilot135pd's Avatar
Pilot135pd Pilot135pd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vaca Moo Airport - TA37 in East TEXAS
Posts: 1,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jliltd View Post
Your question being answered, your diagram may be trouble. The GDL 39 and aera 660 have to be connected with both TX and RX wires set to the same data format of "GARMIN DATA TRANSFER". So your blue wire in the diagram is also going to the G5's RX pin in parallel with the GDL 39. You can't do that since the data formats are not compatible. So the G5's want the different data format setting of "AVIATION IN/NMEA & VHF OUT" so you would have to send that to them on their own channel from the 660 with that proper format. So in your example it would be 660 blue wire to GDL 39 Green/White wire, 660 yellow wire to GDL 39 Green Wire. For that connection the area 660 Data Channel 1 (TX1 and RX1) would be set to "GARMIN DATA TRANSFER". Then you would connect the 660 Orange wire to the G5's pin 4. For that connection the aera 660 Data Channel 2 (TX2) would be set to "AVIATION IN/NMEA & VHF OUT". For extra points you could take this same "orange" circuit and route it to a VHF com that allows for remote standby tuning via the SL-40 protocol. That works because those radios use the same data protocol setting as the G5's.

My last hope and I'm pretty sure it does, if the JPI accepts the "AVIATION IN/NMEA & VHF OUT" then connect that port to both the JPI and the G5s.
__________________
Sadly sold my RV-8 however still trying to enjoy life by living on my airport with FREE campsites & facilities for ALL visiting pilots to enjoy www.facebook.com/VacaMooAirport/ & flying my OnSpeed equipped C-177 while waiting for my next experimental plane !

Exempt by 3 out of the 10 ways but I still donated.

Last edited by Pilot135pd : 01-13-2022 at 05:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-13-2022, 04:41 PM
Pilot135pd's Avatar
Pilot135pd Pilot135pd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vaca Moo Airport - TA37 in East TEXAS
Posts: 1,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jliltd View Post
Oops. You said you had a GDL 39, which is a portable unit. But I just noticed you put pin number for connections on your diagram. If you have a DSUB connector then you have a GDL 39R, not a 39. Also, that unit only has a 9 pin connector and you are showing to use pins 13 and 14, which the GDL 39R does not have.

Do a little homework and get back to us here.
I have a 39 not a 39R. The pin numbers are from the 39 connector that I bought at Mouser and I'm wiring up right now. $70 for a Garmin bare wire cable or $4 for a Mouser connector, I chose the latter.

GDL39 pin 13 is Data IN B and pin 14 is Data OUT B
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9504.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	323.8 KB
ID:	20948  
__________________
Sadly sold my RV-8 however still trying to enjoy life by living on my airport with FREE campsites & facilities for ALL visiting pilots to enjoy www.facebook.com/VacaMooAirport/ & flying my OnSpeed equipped C-177 while waiting for my next experimental plane !

Exempt by 3 out of the 10 ways but I still donated.

Last edited by Pilot135pd : 01-13-2022 at 04:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 01-13-2022, 04:57 PM
Pilot135pd's Avatar
Pilot135pd Pilot135pd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vaca Moo Airport - TA37 in East TEXAS
Posts: 1,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jliltd View Post
Your question being answered, your diagram may be trouble. The GDL 39 and aera 660 have to be connected with both TX and RX wires set to the same data format of "GARMIN DATA TRANSFER". So your blue wire in the diagram is also going to the G5's RX pin in parallel with the GDL 39. You can't do that since the data formats are not compatible. So the G5's want the different data format setting of "AVIATION IN/NMEA & VHF OUT" so you would have to send that to them on their own channel from the 660 with that proper format. So in your example it would be 660 blue wire to GDL 39 Green/White wire, 660 yellow wire to GDL 39 Green Wire. For that connection the area 660 Data Channel 1 (TX1 and RX1) would be set to "GARMIN DATA TRANSFER". Then you would connect the 660 Orange wire to the G5's pin 4. For that connection the aera 660 Data Channel 2 (TX2) would be set to "AVIATION IN/NMEA & VHF OUT". For extra points you could take this same "orange" circuit and route it to a VHF com that allows for remote standby tuning via the SL-40 protocol. That works because those radios use the same data protocol setting as the G5's.

So this should work AND I still get the extra points where I could (I'm not going to) connect that "red line" to a VHF Com that allows for remote standby tuning via the SL-40 protocol, correct?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Document1b.png
Views:	49
Size:	140.9 KB
ID:	20965  
__________________
Sadly sold my RV-8 however still trying to enjoy life by living on my airport with FREE campsites & facilities for ALL visiting pilots to enjoy www.facebook.com/VacaMooAirport/ & flying my OnSpeed equipped C-177 while waiting for my next experimental plane !

Exempt by 3 out of the 10 ways but I still donated.

Last edited by Pilot135pd : 01-13-2022 at 09:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-13-2022, 10:22 PM
jliltd's Avatar
jliltd jliltd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Rancho San Lorenzo
Posts: 1,320
Default

Since you are making your own bare wire cable you have gone too far off the reservation for me. Everything you need should be in the documentation for each device. But yes, I think the JPI can be paralleled with the G5s with that same data protocol. Again it should all be in the device documentation or with a phone call to either manufacturer.
__________________
Jim Ivey
RV-8
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01-13-2022, 10:39 PM
Pilot135pd's Avatar
Pilot135pd Pilot135pd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vaca Moo Airport - TA37 in East TEXAS
Posts: 1,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jliltd View Post
Since you are making your own bare wire cable you have gone too far off the reservation for me. Everything you need should be in the documentation for each device. But yes, I think the JPI can be paralleled with the G5s with that same data protocol. Again it should all be in the device documentation or with a phone call to either manufacturer.
Thank you. The data protocol issue was my main concern. I'll know if it works next week, I finished wiring the connector (just have to finish installing the metal plates and plastic covers) but I won't have time to install and test it because the 660 wiring is in the plane already connected to the AirGizmo mount and the JPI.

Thanks again for all your help and the others who offered suggestions too. Electronics has always been my main hobby while flying has been my job but now that I'm retired and only fly for fun, integrating electronics into aviation feels great.
__________________
Sadly sold my RV-8 however still trying to enjoy life by living on my airport with FREE campsites & facilities for ALL visiting pilots to enjoy www.facebook.com/VacaMooAirport/ & flying my OnSpeed equipped C-177 while waiting for my next experimental plane !

Exempt by 3 out of the 10 ways but I still donated.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.