What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Electrical Tools for Garmin Install

CABaye

I'm New Here
I am planning the panel update project for the new-to-me RV-6A. The most expensive box in the plan is a GTX375 but the system will also include replacing the existing Trio EZ-pilot with a GMC507 and Garmin servos. The panel currently has dual G5s and a GNS430 (non-WAAS).

I have skimmed the manuals and will give them a more thorough read before diving into the work but was looking for a bit of advice on tools. What do I need? And more importantly what do I need that may not be obvious. I have a good electronics tool kit, including tools for DB-type connectors (crimping tool, pin extractor, ect.)

A bit of background on me. I am a retired Navy Electronics Technician (Submarine Navigation) and currently work as a Controls Engineer. By my reckoning that is just enough knowledge to be dangerous; so your actual experience with this kind of work will be very helpful.

Thanks!

wire stripper
crimper for traditional connectors
Dsub (regular and high density) crimpers (either the mil style or the traditional two band crimps - crimpers are different)(former are easier - latter are cheaper)
regular and HD pin extactors
soldering gear, if you prefer that over crimps
solder sleeves or equivilant for the shield terminations. I used some and others I just soldered a pigtail to the shield and covered with shrink wrap. The latter was faster, as it seemed to take forever for the solder to melt with my heat gun.

Larry

Last edited:
If you have an AFM8 style crimper, you will need the K13-1 positioner for the low density contacts used in the G5 and GAD 29, and a K42 positioner for the smaller high density contacts used by the GNX 375 and GMC 507.

You can crimp every Dsub pin used in a large G5/G3X system with this crimper and these two positioners.