VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #11  
Old 05-30-2022, 07:15 PM
Longez's Avatar
Longez Longez is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 439
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by PilotCR3 View Post
The G3X Manual linked above instructed the GTN to be on

A.ON THE GTN 6XX/7XX RS-232 CONFIG PAGE
SET RS-232 CHANNEL 1 INPUT AND OUTPUT FORMATS TO "PANEL GTX w/TIS #1"


when doing that, I received the "No ADS-B" message on the transponder, so I switched it to ADS-B+ as you instructed, but still receiving the BALt failure. I believe it might be because I changed it then took right back off, so the PAR report could have the flights confused. I will fly again tomorrow to check, just wanted to make sure there wasn't anything needed in ARINC field on the transponder, I'll just set it to off.
Just so there is no confusion on what is needed to transmit ADS-B+ GPS data from the GTN to the GTX 330ES, here is a repeat of the guidance provided above from page 27-32 of the Rev. AP G3X/G3X Touch installation manual.

GTN 6XX/7XX, GNS 4XXW/5XXW (WHEN ADS-B OUT IS BEING PROVIDED TO ES TRANSPONDER)

A.ON THE GTN/GNS RS-232 CONFIG MODE PAGE SET SET RS-232 OUTPUT FORMAT TO "ADS-B+" OR "ADS-B+ FORMAT 1" FOR RS-232 PORT CONNECTED TO TRANSPONDER RS-232 IN CHANNEL 2

B. ON THE GTX 33ES/330ES RS-232 CONFIG MODE PAGE SET SET RS-232 INPUT FORMAT TO "REMOTE" FOR RS-232 CHANNEL 2 CONNECTED TO GTN/GNS ADS-B+ OUTPUT

Keep in mind that the missing BAlt data may be a wiring problem, not a configuration problem.

When you go into the transponder configuration page on the PFD (in config mode), does it show a green check mark at the bottom (indicating good communication between the GSU 73 and the GTX 330ES)?

Click image for larger version

Name:	Transponder Configuration GTX330ES.png
Views:	34
Size:	43.2 KB
ID:	26444

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-01-2022, 10:03 AM
PilotCR3 PilotCR3 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: LNA
Posts: 16
Default

It does not, it was actually set to “none” but when I select Gtx330es it has a red X over “not receiving transponder data”
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-01-2022, 04:04 PM
Longez's Avatar
Longez Longez is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 439
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by PilotCR3 View Post
It does not, it was actually set to “none” but when I select Gtx330es it has a red X over “not receiving transponder data”
A setting of "None" and one way communication from the GSU 73 to the GTX 330ES is fine if you don't want to be able to tune the GTX 330ES transponder code from the GDU.

We know from our separate messaging communication that you now have your BAlt problem solved.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-31-2022, 11:34 AM
PilotCR3 PilotCR3 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: LNA
Posts: 16
Default Balt Failure again

Good Afternoon,

Chasing down a bALT failure again, just replaced my static instruments with a G5 for a standby. Not sure if this is connected, but it has created a configuration error again. The GTN750 displays a warning message saying "Barometric altitude lost"

On the GTX330ES, it is still set for REMOTE and REMOTE + TIS.

My RS232 settings on the GTN750 are as follows
1: MapMX format 2 In/Out
2: GMA Format 1 In/Out
3: No Input, ADS-B+ output
4. Connex Format 2 in/out
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-31-2022, 08:21 PM
Longez's Avatar
Longez Longez is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 439
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by PilotCR3 View Post
Good Afternoon,

Chasing down a bALT failure again, just replaced my static instruments with a G5 for a standby. Not sure if this is connected, but it has created a configuration error again. The GTN750 displays a warning message saying "Barometric altitude lost"

On the GTX330ES, it is still set for REMOTE and REMOTE + TIS.

My RS232 settings on the GTN750 are as follows
1: MapMX format 2 In/Out
2: GMA Format 1 In/Out
3: No Input, ADS-B+ output
4. Connex Format 2 in/out
The GTN 750 (A429 In 1A/1B) receives baro altitude from the GSU 73 (A429 Out 1A/1B) over ARINC 429, not RS-232.

See page 28-11 of the Rev. AP G3X Touch Installation manual for wiring and configuration guidance for this interface.

Click image for larger version

Name:	GSU73 to GTN750.png
Views:	20
Size:	209.5 KB
ID:	28856

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:52 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.