What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

An 80% solution with S/W P60G2

gotyoke

Well Known Member
I've decided I want to prime with Sherwin Williams P60G2, but I've never used a spray gun before. I've now sunk 3 hours of research into it, including several threads on these forums, and have come up with what I believe is an 80% solution (i.e., I could spend a whole lot more time and money to get modestly better results...not worth it). Now I want to know from you armchair experts to see if there is anything really important I'm missing before I go drop some cash.

Equipment:

Preparation:
  • Lightly scuff with red Scotchbrite pad
  • Wipe down with acetone
  • 1 to 1.75 primer (well shaken) to reducer mix, more reducer if needed
  • Strain the primer mix into the cup
  • Setup gun for a nice cigar pattern (thanks youtube)
  • Not too cold or you get consistency issues

Application:
  • 35 to 45 static PSI at the regulator
  • Spray 90 degrees to the surface about 6 inches away
  • Just enough sprayed on to see that there is something there, not too thick
  • Don't take breaks or the primer will harden in the gun (use laquer thinner to clear)

Final:
  • Clean up for 7 hours

Fire away!

I did not see any air filtration in your list. A 30 gal tank will cause more cycling and heat build up. There is a greater chance of moisture condensing out in the line/hose when that happens. 30 is fine, recognizing the limits.

Moisture traps-desiccants and filters can do that job. Remember, paint application contamination can be picked up anywhere that air as been. Your other hardware looks like a good start and with a little practice you will be fine.

FYI My tank is now 60 gal, with two stage inter-cooled compressor, and I use a box fan for long usage sessions (sand blasting).

Last edited:
Spray gun cleaner