What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Considering RV Build - Introduction

Hello all,

I've been considering building an RV7 taildragger for a few years, and am about to order the empennage kit next month. Finally have a combination of the space/time/money that I think it is likely to be completed in a reasonable amount of time. The goal would be to have it flying within 2 years (QB kit ), which is almost certainly too ambitious, but I won't be upset if it takes longer either.

About myself - I'm a 34 year old married engineer in Florida. Part time CFI - Airplane/Glider, I've been flying about 200 hours/year. Looking for something fast, primarily for 500m X/C flights, 2 people. Have considered buying a Mooney or Bonanza, but the RV seems to fit the flying I would do better, and eventually at a lower cost.

Any advice before I get started? I've read these forums pretty thoroughly, especially the builder tips, watched plenty of EAA videos, been to Sun 'n Fun a few times, and have spent many years around airplane hangers, sometimes turning wrenches. I have a feeling I'll be buying a lot of beers for the A&P's I know over the next few years :)

Welcome to VAF!

Russ, welcome to the good ship VAF:D

If you have not ever flown in an RV, I would suggest the first step would be to find a ride somewhere.

Good to have you here.

Unless your convinced you want to build, you might consider buying an RV. With a bit of shopping you can find one for less than it would cost you to build and with patience, cash in hand, and a watchful eye, you can score a real bargain. Buying a flying RV obviously circumvents the delay you'll encounter building. Another possibility is sell what you're flying, buy an RV and start building your dream machine (this is the route I've finally taken).